North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the Dragon''s Tooth Hike - 1 to 51 of 51   
Review the Dragon''s Tooth hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: Ott Mountain Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wow! This hike was really surprising, because the rock scramble ended up being quite a bit more technical than we originally thought. We hiked up from the parking area up and back for a total distance of about 5 miles. The trail up to the AT is exceptionally well maintained and pleasant with the babbling stream and tall trees. Once you get to the AT, the hike becomes more of a climb with lots of stairs and rocks. We would recommend not having bulky or heavy packs on this portion of the trail, purely from a safety perspective. Once you get to the top the Dragon's Tooth reminded us of Joshua Tree and some of the big rock formations out there...except here you're on the edge of a cliff with crazy awesome views! Highly recommend this hike but allow extra time when doing your planning. That last .7 miles to the top will take you a while, but enjoy! It's fun. We did a little video of our hike if you want to preview. It also shows camp sites and trail obstacles, etc. It's on our YouTube channel called Ott Mountain. Link is here: https://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&video_id=9gNezDa1r5o

By: Barb O Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, August 28, 2016
Just finished a terrific Sunday morning and afternoon hike to the top! My friend and I are 65. While 'youngsters' were passing us at a steady clip, we did pretty fair ourselves at getting up and back in 5 hours with a long lunch on top and a split-off to the longer right trail ( as suggested) on the way down . (DON'T hike the split to the right on the way down. It's part of the AT. It's much longer, nothing to see at the top due to trees and some pretty miserable rocky spots as well, all anticlimactic during the return down. Just stick to the blue blazed trail). Saw one young guy with a 12 week old puppy... As others said, it's not possible for a dog to do it without being carried so be prepared for carrying your dog. Otherwise we agreed with most reviewers... Harder ( shorter) than McAffees Notch, you need hiking boots for the best climb, and yes there was a bevy of activity at the top. We had a great time!

By: Medic G Rating: Date of Hike: Tuesday, August 02, 2016
Good hike.  The "work" on this hike is the 0.7 miles on the AT.  As stated in the description, many rock scrambles which makes the 0.7 mile feel longer than what it actually is and takes additional time.  No one at the tooth when we arrived and we were able to explore it all to ourselves.  I did climb up the tooth some and almost all the way to the top.  On the return, we continued past the Dragon's Tooth trail and continue south on the AT and picked up the Boy Scout connector trail.  There were still a couple of small rock scrambles on the AT heading towards the Boy Scout connector trail.  Didn't see anyone on the return trip on the AT south of the Dragon's Tooth trail heading towards the Boy Scout trail.  The trails on this hike were well marked.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, July 16, 2016
Having trouble downloading the map-- is the file corrupted? Looking forward to hiking this one next weekend!

By: TJF Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, May 14, 2016
Beautiful hike and the rock scramble is a lot of fun! Climbed up on the Dragon's tooth and got rained on on the way down, but the tree coverage is nice. It takes a bit of work but is a lot of fun!

By: Shawn R. Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, April 29, 2016
This is a fantastic hike, with several great views, with the culminating view at the top of the Dragon's Tooth. It is definitely not an easy climb (which is one of the reasons why I enjoyed it so much), so if you feel that you are not in the best shape physically, I wouldn't recommend this hike. I went on a Friday with beautiful weather and wrongly assumed that not many people would be there since it wasn't a Saturday and it had been rainy the previous days. Unfortunately, when we got there the parking lot was nearly full. The only reason that I gave this hike four stars instead of five was the lack of solitude. Going back on the AT North we only ran into one other person, which was very nice! I highly recommend making this a loop due to the increase in solitude as well as a couple more great views on this stretch of trail. We finished the hike in 3 hours with a lengthy break at the top where we were able to climb up to the top of the Tooth.

Check out my video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66Ovb1T5deI&feature=youtu.be

By: Sula Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, April 25, 2016
An excellent hike, with a decent amount of interesting rock-scrambling at the top.

This hike has a good local reputation and is near to Salem and Roanoke.  The result is significant numbers of hikers on fair-weather weekend days (and typically Fridays as well).  The parking lot can fill up (some overflow parking is possible along Route 311).  You'd do well to get on the trail really early, or choose a weekday (or both).

The entire route is well signed and blazed - it would take some unusual talent to get lost or seriously off trail. I nearly always carry an adjustable-length hiking stick, and it served me well on this trail.

The rocky section starts about 10 minutes above where the 1.7 mile trail from the parking lot intersects the AT.  A heavy pack would definitely make some sections much more challenging (through hikers have my admiration). Don't expect to make the same speed here - either up or down - as you would on the "hiking" parts of this trail. In two places large metal "ladder rungs" are anchored in rock (but bypassing these would not be difficult).

The climb to the tip of the tooth is a fairly easy scramble with feet and hands on good rock, but definitely exposed - those with any fear of heights probably will (and should) decline.

The return to the parking lot via the slightly longer AT & Boy Scout trail is recommended.  Judging by the state of the two trails, this one see much less traffic it's quieter and definitely more scenic (several viewpoints).

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, October 11, 2015
Amazing! Beautiful! This hike is on the top of my list of hikes for sure. The hike is a good workout with fantastic rock scrambles up and back. I highly recommend upon your return trip to take the boy scout route at the campground on the .7 return mark. This part of the hike was incredibly peaceful. The climb to the top of the tooth is a bit scary but if you have your confidence in footing you can do it, if not you can climb plenty of other sections to enjoy the beauty.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, September 26, 2015
Amazing hike! It's definitely worth the rock climb at the end. Brought back some memories of Old Rag Mtn, for those of you who have climbed that. If you haven't, and you enjoyed Dragon's Tooth, I highly suggest it! I've read a few reviews about struggling with dogs while hiking the last .7 miles. I'm a 21 year old girl who weighs 120 pounds, and I got my 55 pound dog up to the tooth by myself, so it's definitely possible. I had a harness for him with a long, sturdy lead. The harness made me feel a lot better about the section with the skinny ledge you have to climb along. I'd say I had to lift him 2-3 times on the way up. He's pretty athletic and motivated to stay with me, so he was able to do the vast majority of the climbing on his own. You won't be able to climb the actual tooth once you get to the top though, so having another person with you to hold the leash would be nice if you plan to do that!

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, September 20, 2015
I drove for 3 hours to get here, the drive up to the parking lot is not so nice for low bottom cars. The Parking lot is a good size when I got there around 1130AM ish, and the Trail Head is well marked. The Blue Trail that lead up to the AT and to the Summit is heavily hiked, it's like you can drive a 4 wheeler up, well until you hit the rock scrambles. If you like this trail, I would suggest hiking Old Rag in SNP. Anyways, it seems most people don't do the loop, but go up and come down the same way. I would suggest doing the loop and taking Boy Scout back to the parking lot. You will see some good views and there is some more rock scrambles going down. Also that part of the trail is really hip wide and you avoid the crowd that is coming down or up.

By: Matt Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, September 20, 2015
Great Hike!!! My friends and I really enjoyed this hike. The trail is a constant uphill and you don't get many breaks, but once you get to the top it is absolutely worth it. We really enjoyed the rock scrambling and we had the Dragons Tooth all to ourselves for a good 20-30 minutes before other hikers got there. I'd encourage you to check out the view from the tooth and know that there is plenty of room for several people without having to climb all the way to the top. I'm a chicken when it comes to heights, but I'm really glad I decided to climb up and check it out from the tooth. I didn't need to climb all the way to the top to get the same great views and it was well worth it. *****Side note...Please be prepared. We saw several people hiking with no water or supplies and several with little more than a water bottle in hand. Things can happen that are out of your control and fortunately there are people like me and my friends that bring plenty of first aid and gear to take care of you if an emergency should occur, but don't rely on others solely. Remember the basics: Food, Water, Shelter (a bivy bag or small tarp would suffice), Fire kit, Compass, map, and a small first aid kit are the bare necessities when you go backpacking. Others may disagree, but it's better to have it and not need it than need it and not have it.***** Be safe and enjoy.

By: Ashley Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, August 02, 2015
An amazingly fun hike, and we lucked out with very few hikers on the trail until we started heading back down. Definitely not an easy hike (I did  find McAfee Knob more challenging), but I find that the time estimation on this website is a little exaggerated for the average adult hiker.The first 1.7ml is nice and easy, despite it being a pretty constant incline and took us only about 40min to complete. The last 0.7ml is definitely slower going, but we finished that in 40min as well. Be sure to follow the markers closely, it's easy to think you are following the trail but to actually be off if you don't see the markers. The view is lovely, and those who are comfortable can boulder up the tooth, but I left that to my friend and watched from the bottom. Going down we expected to be a bit slower, but it was still only 40min down the first 0.7ml, and 30min for the last 1.7ml, bringing our time to 2.5hrs, not including our break at the top. I definitely expect to do this hike at least a couple more times in the next year.

By: Proud Father Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, July 25, 2015
Absolutely loved this hike! I did it as part of the triple crown. We did this along with McAfee Knob and Tinker Cliff. We went up via the AT trail which was a fun trail with a lot of rocks to explore with some nice views. The last .7 miles is where you earn your views at the top. Climbing the actual Dragons Tooth was memorable as well once we got up there. The earlier you go in the day the better as far as crowds go. Don't let the talk of some scary rock climbs stray you from this climb. I'm not a big fan of heights at times and I didn't have a problem with it. It's not the Knifes Edge of Mt. Katahdin....

By: Stephen Price Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, July 12, 2015
This hike was excellent! The first 1.7 miles is a nice warm-up for the more challenging remaining .7 miles. My wife and I completely enjoyed the rocky trek to the top where the tooth is. It was a fun challenge that we both had been looking for since becoming a hiking couple earlier this year. Upon reaching the tooth, the views were amazing and actually climbing up the tooth itself was engaging. Highly recommend this hike to anyone who is hiking for somewhat of a physical challenge and beautiful scenery.

By: Jennifer and family Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, May 10, 2015
Hiked this one for Mother's Day with family and dog. Our youngest is 9 and loved every minute of it. Got extremely rocky at the top - as it says in the description - and was difficult only because we had to keep the dog on leash. If it was a ski slope we would rate it a black diamond but we are very glad we did it. Took our crew almost 2 hours up and about 1 hour down. Beautiful at the top!!

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, October 04, 2014
This was my fiance and my first hike, and we loved it! He got a little winded before we got to the big rocks, but we both thoroughly enjoyed climbing all over the rocks. We will definitely be going back!

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, July 26, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this rather short hike. The first 1.7 miles was not too tiring, especially since we stopped 2-3 times for water. The last .7 miles involved scrambling over rocks. I didn't mind this part I actually thought it was pretty fun since I am a rock climber. I did, however, see a number of people who were dressed inadequately for the hike (in jeans/street clothes) or who had small children strapped to their back (!!). I don't imagine that they made it to the summit. While this hike is not very long, it is pretty intense, especially if you don't do hiking on a regular basis. Anywho, it was very rewarding upon reaching the summit. The view was fantastic, and there was a nice flat, sandy place to rest. It would also make for a nice camp spot if you dare to crawl over rocks with your 20 pound+ pack. I also think the "tooth" and other rocks at the summit would make for some fun bouldering, that is, if one is brave enough to lug a crash pad up the mountain. I highly recommend this hike to those experienced hikers out there. This is not really a kid/novice friendly route. Please read a about a hike before you attempt it so you know what to expect.

By: Little Lefty Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, May 25, 2014
I was Section hiking last month, and ran into the "Tooth" on my third day heading to Pickle Branch Shelter. I left Campbell's Shelter (1/3rd marker for through hikers) early that morning and scaled McAfee Knob to great views!! Well exhausted by the 12 mile mark, I hit the Dragon's Tooth. It was truly a Beast climbing up from the north after a long day. Endless false summits and vertical climbs with 35# on my back were insane! The views did not disappoint, and I must have looked a mess among the Memorial Weekend crowds, many of which could not make it to the top. Great memorizes!! I was Out at Rt 621 the next day and home to Maryland for Steamed Crabs. If there is no pain, there is no reward!

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, May 16, 2014
Loved this hike! The day before we had about 3 inches of rain so I decided to hike this the opposite way listed here. Went up the AT , very rocky and scenic, wild rhododendron blooming everywhere along the trail! The last .7 of a mile is steep and rocly , but loads of fun too! I'm almost 52 and i had a blast climbing the rocks! I even climbed to the top of the tooth when I got to the top. Took me and hour and 20 minutes going up and that included stopping many times to take pictures and I came back down the Dragon's Tooth Trial in 51 minutes. Planning to take my 23 year old son there soon! Can't wait to go back!

By: b&dt Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, April 26, 2014
We walked up the Dragons Tooth Trail and down the Appalachian Trail from Lost Spectacles Gap. Had we known, we would have done it in reverse. Coming down the AT from LS Gap added more rock scrambling than I was really interested in after having climbed up and down to the Tooth. The Dragons Tooth Trail is a nice walk and would have been much appreciated as a good wind down. But overall, it was a good challenge with a nice payoff at the top. But yes, as has been noted by others, McAfee Knob has much more incredible scenery, but is also lots more crowded.

By: Michael Rating: Date of Hike: Tuesday, December 31, 2013
The "Dragons Tooth" at the top is very neat. Besides that, the hike is fairly short and moderately difficult. The last mile or so, the rock scramble is like doing a mini version of Old Rag. We didn't realize this going into the hike, so we brought our dog (Jack Russell/Hound mix) and he scaled the rock fine! The only thing I wish was better about this hike, is a better place to sit near the tooth at the top. Overall, the hike was fun and great hike on New Years Eve. (P.S- Macafee's Knob and Tinker Cliffs are on Route 311 near Dragon's Tooth and are better hikes)

By: Tony and Gretchan Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, December 21, 2013
WHEW! We had signed up to do the Roanoke 7 Summits, and did this last after hiking the others with groups, and on our own. I was fearful to do it, from all that we heard, and all that talk proved true! I wasn't ready for the rocks, but glad it was our last, because it was the hardest of all seven. I was excited though, that we accomplished it, helping each other along the way. Very glad we didn't take our dog, who hikes well, but it would have been next to impossible to take her up the steep rocks and crevices. It was definitely worth the CHALLENGE! and the view was beautiful, but at our age, that will be our last time up there!

By: Chantilly Hokie Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, November 23, 2013
Very nice hike. The Boy Scout connector off the AT is not blazed in blue but in yellow.

By: Tony and Gretchan Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, November 16, 2013
This was a wonderful hike! We had done it before, but this time with our group from the Roanoke 7 Summits. It was not hard, just long and beautiful. It was a very foggy day, and some of the fog may have been due to the recent brush fires, but it made for a different view while walking. When we arrived, it looked like nothing was out there, because of the fog. Not many times people get to see that view! Our dog enjoyed it as much as the other hikes!

By: ct Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, November 09, 2013
We entered the coordinates of the parking lot in our GPS and ended up in WV. After finally getting there we started the hike and almost immediately ran into two large groups of people. The hike up to the top was crowded with huge groups of college kids and nothing special. We brought our dog, which I would not recommend, and we had to basically carry our german shepherd the last .7 miles to the top and back down. The view up there was not worth the trouble. The only reason I would recommend this hike is if you want to be able to say you hiked .7 of the hardest miles on the app trail.

By: bikepoet Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, June 29, 2013
This is definitely a more difficult hike than McAfee's Knob, but the end result is worth it. If you have no fear of climbing gyms, then this is no problem. If you prefer to hike without using your hands, then this isn't for you.

Getting to the trail is fairly easy as most major search engine maps know where the trailhead is. Just look for the small sign and gravel road entrance on the left on 311 going out from Roanoke a few miles past the McAfee Knob parking area.

The trails are well marked and beaten down, so I wearing shorts was not a problem when it came to weeds and ticks. I did wear my mid-top hiking shoes instead of my low tops because I figured the extra rocks would be good for twisting ankles, and I'm glad I wore the higher top shoes.

The last section of hike on the A.T. is quite difficult, as described, but that's the fun of it! Seeing the tooth for the first time is quite a spectacle and from the back side, it doesn't seem possible to get to the top, but moving around to the front right shows the path up to the top of the tooth. There is a nice landing area past the crevice and rock that you can scoot up using your back and feet. This is where most of my friends stopped to take pictures. But if you are daring, you can climb up the tooth to a higher spot safely, and it is even possible to touch the top of the tooth if you are careful. I stayed low and kept both my feet and hands secured on the non-slanted areas that provided grip.

The A.T. trail coming back is more scenic, but seemed to be a little rockier, so it makes me wonder if it would be easier going up this way, rather than the blue trail.

By: B. Rutherford Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, June 24, 2013
My husband and I wanted to do a challenging hike and this fit the bill.  I wasn't mentally prepared for scaling the rock ledges but I quickly got over it and did just fine.  We passed four couples and one loan hiker that entire trip.  The negatives were the biting flies but we were in the woods so insects are to be expected.  Next time I'll bring bug spray.  I loved the challenge of the different terrain but my quads were jello by the end of the hike.  I'm a distance runner so my legs are strong but the downhill and the climbing used my muscles in a different way.  We finished the trail just shy of 3 1/2 hours (including our time at the tooth).  I would recommend this hike for fit people but honestly I could not imagine bringing a dog (unless it will fit in your backpack) or children.  We took the AT connector back and it was just as challenging.  If you are tired you should probably skip this extra slice of the AT and just do an out and back on the same trail.  We didn't see much wildlife (other than insects) but it was really hot.

We will definitely do this hike again with more water, bug spray and an earlier start.

By: Buck and Nikki Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, January 12, 2013
This was my first hike in the Blue Ridge since I was a child. The weather was perfect 61 degrees and clear with a slight breeze from the south. We should have worn shorts or at least our zip offs. There were about twenty cars at the trail head parking lot when we started at 1300 hours. Even with this much traffic the trail was not crowded we spent a lot of time alone to enjoy the quiet as we summited.

We are both flat landers and while in good shape the altitude caused us both to pant. Periodic breaks for water and to talk to those on the trail made the walk enjoyable. We were both surprised by the number of dogs on the trail with their owners. Not in a bad way as we are both love them it was just unexpected.

The rock scrambles were awesome I had forgotten how much I enjoyed this. We spent about an hour at the Tooth and could not get a turn to ascend it so we packed up and made our descent. Arriving at the parking lot we found it packed weaving our way out we both commented on how much fun it was and set our sights on MacFee Knob for the next day.

This was a great reintroduction and primer for our future forays to the AT and its side trails. Thanks to all those that help maintain this incredible resource.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, October 20, 2012
I just did this hike (along with my church pastor) this past weekend and I would have to say I truly enjoyed it. It is all uphill getting to the "tooth" but I didn't find it too steep of a climb. The rock scramble is a lot of fun but you need to be careful of copperheads. We spotted one hiding underneath one of the rocks right off of the trail. There are some nice views along the trail but nothing compares to the view from the top! We went as all of the leaves were changing and it was amazing! I have been on many hikes and it was one of the best views I have ever seen. It took us an hour and a half to reach the top. We spent 45-60 minutes taking in the views and eating lunch. My only complaint about this trail is the solitude. I would have to rate it a 1. We must have seen at least a 100 people along the way and there was probably 40-50 people at the top by the time we got there. Probably because the weather was perfect for hiking that day. You are constantly having to stop and let people by or vise versa. The hike down takes nearly as long since the rock scrambling is more difficult going down than it is up in my opinion. All total we did the entire trip in a little less than 4 hours and that is including our time at the top. Probably could have done it a lot quicker if there was not as many people out. So if you are looking for a good work out hike with amazing views then this is a great hike but if you want some solitude look elsewhere.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, September 22, 2012
My family and I have hiked this trail countless times and we always thoroughly enjoy it.  We love the bouldering aspect and the trail itself is very interesting.  The top doesn't have the best views unless you climb to the top of the Tooth, but it's worth going anyway.  We will be hiking this trail again soon!!

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, September 15, 2012
My wife and I hiked the trail today. It was a great hike. Really easy until the last mile or so, that is when the fun comes into play. The climbing was great but you definitely want to watch your step at points. Today there was a lot of people on the trail but we still had a lot of quiet time to ourselves as we did this hike. As a note of caution there is a bees nest at a bend in trail about a mile or so in from the parking lot. Some people were getting stung so be careful.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, June 17, 2012
We hiked this trail, along with McAfee Knob and Tinker Cliffs, over the weekend. Altogether, it was an AWESOME weekend of hiking and a highly recommended combination for a serious hiker!

Dragon's Tooth took us 3 hours, all very enjoyable. I loved the rock-scrambling part and being able to climb the tooth itself. I found the views only "good" (not amazing), but I think that was more because we had just finished two other hikes with spectacular vistas. We returned via the A.T. as described in the text above, and I'd like to note this is significantly more difficult than simply returning the way you came. The A.T. in that section starts with an uphill climb, but really it is the narrow rocky trail (overgrown in some parts) that causes you to watch your footing and work a little harder than returning via the wide trail the way you came. It wasn't a problem for us, and we found it a very enjoyable alternative, but if you are tired, it will be easier returning the way you came.

We loved the hike, but don't think it's appropriate for young children or dogs that aren't experienced hikers. The rock scrambling is narrow with big steps up (or down) at times, not really meant for short legs.

On a sidenote, the boy scout trail referenced toward the end of the hike is now blazed yellow instead of blue. It is well-marked and you won't miss the turn-off despite the new color.

By: Bev Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, March 08, 2012
Loved this hike! It felt shorter to me than McAfees, but the last bit of "rockclimbing" was super fun! I am out of shape and had to take a couple of breaks on the way up but the view from the top of the tooth was beautiful. From what I saw/hiked I don't think bringing pets or younger children would be a good idea.

By: RJS Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, December 10, 2011
This was a really great hike.  It was a little tough for this out of shape 50 year old but my 17 year old daughter and 8 year old son loved it.  They especially liked the spots where they had to "rock climb".  The views are well worth the effort with great photo ops. (like sitting at the top of the tooth!)  Just be careful.  Would not recommend for smaller children.  This time of year you probably won't need your coat on the trail but will need it on top.  A lot of our fellow hikers pulled their hats and gloves out while on top but took them off on the way down.  Dragon's Tooth is now one of our favorite places in Virginia.

By: brookeson Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, November 25, 2011
Awesome 3hr hike! Summer or winter! The best part is the top and the big rocks to climb up!!!  We had warm weather for this wonderful Thanksgiving hike. So far I love this hike, McAFees Knob, Mount Rogers, Old Rag, Whiteoak Canyon and Crabtree falls!! 

By: VA Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, November 25, 2011
Just a heads up, the boy scout connector trail is now yellow-blazed. GREAT HIKE

By: altcl Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, October 09, 2011
A very beautiful hike and great views from the AT, but make sure to heed the warnings of difficulty!  While we didn't have trouble with the strenuous parts, it can be very slow going over some of the rocky areas, so wearing proper footwear (i.e., boots with ankle support) and taking your time is extremely important to avoid injury.  I would generally NOT recommend this trip for those hiking with dogs or small children.  We knew the hike was difficult prior to our first visit, but elected to take our small dog since she loves to hike along with us.  She did okay, but had to be carried over the rough, rocky areas of the AT, and was not able to make the last leg of the steep climb to the top (i.e., scaling a ledge and using metal "stairs"  to reach Dragon's Tooth).  I would also recommend hiking with a pack so your hands are free to help navigate some of the rough spots. 

Definitely worth it, just make sure you are prepared!

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, June 20, 2011
Being from Michigan this was my first mountain type hike. It was a great one to start with also. I loved every bit of this hike. The first part of the hike is just constant switchbacks through the woods. When you get to that last mile or so and round that corner just after the campsites and get that first view it's breath taking. I'm 27-years-old, 6'2" and in pretty good shape so the rough terrain didn't slow me down at all. The U-shaped bars in the rock I'm sure are very helpful for anyone shorter than I am though. I also am scared of heights but other than walking up to the edge at the top it didn't bother me at all.

The trail is very well blazed and maintained.

I have to say thanks to Hiking Upward, this site helped me choose the hikes I wanted to do plus gave me all the info I needed to get there and what to expect.

By: Caveman Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, October 22, 2010
Let me start my saying that the directions for the trail are true and correct.  I am not the best judge of distance, so I cannot comment on whether or not all the distances were factual, but pretty darned close, I presume. The trail was well signed and blazed.  Although the blue was pretty faded, the trail was easy to follow.  The part of the hike that was trail, (dirt, root and rock), was very tolerable.  A little huffing and puffing from the steady ascent.  The boulders and the craggy vertical slabs that you must navigate and climb, ( up and down), are another matter.  I can move through the woods as well as any, but this rock climbing was a bit intimidating.  I am not a newbie to hiking.  I jog, a little trail running, but I don't exercise my legs with weights.  My legs held up very well but rock scrambling isn't really for me.  That is why I only gave this hike a 3 star rating.  For teens and twenty-somethings in good shape, you will probably have a great time.  One girl I met, said she wanted to bring her 62 year old father up there.  I told her good luck on staying in the will if she did.  The one picture on this website with the stone steps lodged between two slabs is not nearly as bad as it looks.  They could use some more of those iron bars in about 3 more places, though.  Overall, I did enjoy myself and glad I did it before I turned 50.  It was just nice to be up there in the clean air on a day without a cloud in the sky and snapping some photos.  The return was better as I did not sweat as much and the alternate route for the return laid out on this website was an enjoyable one.  As much of a challenge as it was, I LOVE the AT.  So hold on to your molars and take off to the tooth.   P.S.-No bears or signs of them.  Yeah!

By: Gabriel Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, August 22, 2010
This site's information was spot on for this hike. You're going to sweat so bring plenty of water. Definitely take the Appalachian Trail on the way back down. There are some some great views on the way back (arguably better than Dragon's Tooth itself) and the terrain is slightly different so it keeps the trek interesting. Spotted a box turtle and tons of butterflies. Overall a nice hike, challenging, yet fairly short in length. I completed the full circuit, including about a 30 minute lunch stop at the top, by myself in about 3 hours.

By: Brian Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, June 12, 2010
Awesome hike! The trail was clearly marked and very well kept. Let me tell you though, if you are an noobie like my Wife and I, then you are in for a pretty strenuous hike. Also learned an important lesson today...bring an extra set of clothes as it rained on us literally the ENTIRE hike back! All in all, we thouroughly enjoyed it and we will be hiking it again!

By: paul Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, March 08, 2010
Thanks for the directions, especially with pictures for the turn off.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, March 01, 2010
This hike is one of the more challenging hikes I have ever done. I took my dogs along which I would not recommend doing. The large rocks that you must climb to reach the top led to me having to carry and lift them for a good part of the hike. The view from the top is great, but overall the hike doesn't compare to the other hikes in the area.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, September 05, 2009
Definitely a great hike but not one to do with broken ribs. You need all of the moving parts working for this one. If you're looking for solitude this is not the hike for you. We must have passed over twenty VT students and others going  both up and down. Probably the most peaceful part is on the descent on the AT and Scout Trail between the two ends of the Dragon's Tooth trail. You'll also catch a couple of more views there.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, July 24, 2009
Beautiful hike with a great reward for all the effort!

By: Chris Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, June 29, 2009
We had hiked from McAfee Knob the day before and spent the night at the campsite where the Dragon's Tooth Trail meets the Boy Scout Connector.  There was water at the campsite and with the exception of a possible copperhead trying to get into one of the guys' tents it was outstanding.  We left our packs and climbed it as a day hike.  The first part was easy and cool with shaded trees and nice breezes.  The last seven tenths of a mile was tough climbing up the rocks.  It would have been very difficult climbing both up and down with a pack on.  When we reached the ridge line it was like someone had turned on the AC as the breeze blew over the mountain.  The views were awesome.  They weren't as good as McAfee Knob, but what is.  Overall it was a great experience.  

By: B.A. Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, February 06, 2009
I didn't hike to the tooth today, but instead did a loop using the trails that take you there.  Leaving the parking area on Rt. 311, I hiked on the access trail up to it's junction with the scout trail which I used to reach the AT.  The scout trail is less than half a mile long so you reach the AT quicker than by using the blue blazed access trail . . . but it does place you further north on the AT away from Dragon's Tooth.  With a recent dusting of snow on the AT, the trail was simply beautiful.  The contrast of colors from the green leaves of the mountain laurels, the grays of the rocks as well as tree trunks and limbs, the brown of fallen leaves, along with the white snow made the hike cinematic.  This has always been a favorite hike - which the snow delightfully enhanced.  A feature that I really like about this section of the AT is that from the scout trail south to the access trail you're pretty much hiking on top of a rocky ridge line with wonderful views on either side.  After about a mile to a mile-and-a-half of hiking south on the AT from the scout trail, the trail intersects with the blue blazed access trail which I used to return to the parking area.  You can continue south on the AT to Dragon's Tooth, but otherwise this loop provides a nice afternoon hike.      

By: B. A. Rating: Date of Hike: Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Having been years since I'd hiked to "The Tooth" - I was pleased to discover that it was everything I remembered and more.  When I arrived at the parking lot off of 311 shortly before noon the temperature was in the mid 30's and there was only one other car present.  While winding my way through a "holler" on the access trail up to the AT it was completely tranquil except for a few wild turkeys which scattered at my presence.  From the saddle in the ridgeline where the access trail meets the AT on up to the tooth, the sun shone bright.  In nooks and crags hidden in the shade there were a few spots where ground water was frozen on the trail.  I didn't experience any wind until reaching the tooth.  It wasn't until I was halfway down the access trail on my return that I encountered a couple other hikers.  I'm now inspired to hit the trail more often - hopefully I'll make the Knob next week!     


By: John Q Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, November 29, 2008
This was a really good hike.  We go on the trail around 9:45 and we didn't see anyone until we go to the top.  We saw more people on the way down but didn't see anyone on the AT.  Overall it was a good hike and really fun climbing the tooth.


P.S. love the website keep up the good work

By: Brandon Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, November 28, 2008
One great hike! All the rock-hiking, and climbing the Tooth was tremendous fun, much more than recently-hyped Stricklers. There were a lot of people on the trail as we were leaving, but once we started down the AT instead of the Dragon's Tooth trail, we never saw another person. Not only is there more solitude on the AT, but it really is a much better hike. The only real negative is that the metal rods are there more for short/unathletic people, no real hand action is necessary.

By: Jason Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, October 04, 2008
Nice hike.  There was some steep parts that those with vertigo may have issues.  Great views, although it may have been better to wait a couple weeks to see the trees in full color.

Records 1 to 51 of 51
about us | terms of use | © 2017