Little Devils Stairs - North SNP
Spectacular gorge climb up Keyser Run
Great Virginia Hiking Books!

Hiker Reviews for the Jeremy''s Run Hike - 1 to 25 of 25   
Review the Jeremy''s Run hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: Rick Carlstrom Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, June 08, 2013
A group of 9 of us from Troop 894 in Annandale did Jeremy's run clockwise as a one night backpacking training hike for our upcoming Philmont trip.  Everyone really enjoyed this outing.  The hike along the AT was fairly easy - there are some rolling hills but the trail is in very good condition with very few rocks.  The uphill portions are not too steep.  We arrived at the waterfall on Jeremy's run in about 4 hrs. including stopping to put on our rain gear and 15 minutes later removing it.  The campsite had lots of butterflies - they seemed to be everywhere.

Some of the views along the neighbor mountain trail are very nice but are probably a lot better in the fall when there are no leaves on the trees. 

On Sunday we were out of camp a little after 0700.  Those 14 crossings of Jeremy's run will definitely slow you down.  The water was shallow enough to rock hop for most crossings but one misplaced step or slippery rock and it is immediately apparent that the water depth was "Boot Height Plus three inches".  The hike back to Elkwallow is all up hill but like Saturday the trail was not too steep and you could keep up a brisk walking pace without getting winded.

This loop has definitely been added to our "to do again" list.

By: Connor Mac Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, May 17, 2013
This was my first trail hike at Shen, and overall, it was a great one. We saw five bears in the first two hours creekside, and found a fantastic campsite alongside a waterfall about 0.5 miles from the confluence of neighbor mt. trail and jeremys run trail. The climbs were tough, and the views were obstructed by dense fog, but still a good time.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, April 13, 2013
This was a tough and strenuous hike for us. But we did it a little differently by hiking back on the Knob Mountain Trail, instead of the Jeremy's Run Trail. This eliminated most of the water crossings, which are a bit dicey this time of year. We started on the AT at Elkwallow Wayside and then picked up Neighbor Mountain Trail to Jeremy's Run Trail. We camped along Jeremy's Run just before the first stream crossing. The mileage to this point is about 9 miles. The next morning we hiked back to the Neighbor Mountain Junction and picked up the Knob Mountain Trail. Here we had to cross Jeremy's Run, but it was wadeable. After that, Knob Mountain Trail rises steeply, so be ready for a long, tough climb. It's a 3.3-mile climb to the top of Knob Mountain, and it was a challenge. This trail is listed as a Horse Trail on the NatGeo map. Now I know why. Once you arrive at the top, you can stop for lunch and a much-needed rest. After that, it is mostly downhill all the way - 2.2 miles. Near the bottom you connect with the Knob Mountain Cut-off Trail for the last 1.8 miles. Halfway down this trail you have to re-cross Jeremy's Run. There is a short climb at the end of the Cut-off trail, but it isn't long. This extends the length of the hike to 16.3 miles, which is a great length for a backpacking trip. Unless... you lose your camera along the way and have to backtrack a mile to find it. Take it from me, hang onto your gear!

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Wednesday, August 08, 2012
Note: Neighbor Mountain trail is now open again (as of 8/8/2012).

Overall, a nice, overnight circuit (or a pretty hefty day hike). The stream valley is nice, not spectacular in the summer, you can't see the mountains on either side at all. Saw one bear at the start of the Jeremy's Run trail, heard coyotes at night.

Did as an overnight, counter-clockwise, camped about 1/3 mile below the waterfall (where I had planned to camp, but, alas, occupied by the only other hikers I saw on a Wednesday in August). There are several other existing sites nearby, however, and I still found a nice site by the stream. The only downside of splitting this way is the that first day's hike is almost too easy (5 miles or so, downhill) leaving all the hard stuff for the second day, particularly the initial climb up Neighbor mountain, roughly 1,500 feet in about two miles. Note that there's also no water source once you leave the valley until just before Elkwallow.

Fire damage (from summer 2012) on Neighbor mountain isn't severe, and opens up the views a bit on the far ridge in general, it looked like only the undergrowth burned but in areas hot enough to kill the trees and thus leaves.

By: Ted Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, July 28, 2012
Just a FYI. The Neighbor Mountain Trail ( Yellow trail ) off the AT is closed due to fire.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, May 03, 2012
I don't think this hike is that special. I did it on a balmy Thursday and saw only 3 people after I left the AT. The views are partial at best. The flowers along the AT are nice. I spotted two black bears separately on the far side of Neighbor Mountain. The crossings and the miniature waterfall were undoubtedly the best part. But once leaving Jeremy's Run the trail inclines steeply to Elkwallow Picnic Grounds. If you're doing this as a day hike, save your last bit of energy for this tough climb. And yes, I did it in 6.5 hours, including short stops for snacks and photographs. But the length is more accurately 14.0 miles, not 14.7. Bring the bug spray. They bothered me the whole time.

By: Stephen W. Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, April 27, 2012
I did this hike over a weekend with 4 friends.

We did the hike counter clockwise. Going that way, you have a steep climb for the first couple of miles until you reach the summitt, which has great views of nearby mountains. From there you have a steep descent to the creek (with excellent views most of the way down). As other reviewers have noted there are 14 stream crossings. Going counter clockwise we found the 1st crossing to be the most difficult and the deepest. The rest were crossed pretty easily as the water was not too high. The middle portion of the hike was very pleasant and not strenuous, with only a casual climb. The last mile and change back to the Wayside parking area is uphill.

Overall this is one of my favorite hikes and imo even more scenic than St. Mary's Wilderness or Whiteoak Canyon. It can be done in a day, but we spread it out to make for a casual weekend. I would suggest counter clockwise for day hikers, as the climb uphill going clockwise over the last couple of miles is pretty steep.

We did not see any bear, but did spot several bear droppings. We did see deer from our campsite one night, though.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, December 31, 2011
I did this hike solo as an overnight to ring in the New Year (2012). Like most others have said, the hike out Neighbor Mountain Trail before the descent into the valley/Jeremy's Run offers incredible views in either direction as you hike along the ridge.

So far this winter has been extremely mild with no snow and little rain. The first crossing of Jeremy's Run was impossible for me to do without taking off my shoes/socks and rolling my pants up above my knees and wading through (that will sure wake you up in late December!). I can't imagine trying to cross here after a heavy rain or in the Spring (bring your water wings)? As you continue to hike upstream the other numerous crossing arent as bad but can be a challenge to stay dry (either hop between slippery rocks or tight rope walk the fallen tree).

From the advice of this site I made the big waterfall my campsite destination. I rolled in there around 5:30 pm in the dark and again had to remove my socks and shoes to wade through the ice cold calf deep water to reach the site on the opposite bank. It was definitely worth the effort as this is a spectacular site.

I'm guessing that this hike took a total of 8 hours of pure hiking time for me and I consider myself to be in decent shape. This site says you can do it in 6.5 (which includes a stop for lunch!). Perhaps that can be done without a heavy pack and during a time when the water level is even lower than what I experienced but even then I would think that would be mighty speedy.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, December 31, 2011
I did this hike solo as an overnight to ring in the New Year (2012). Like most others have said, the hike out Neighbor Mountain Trail before the descent into the valley/Jeremy's Run offers incredible views in either direction as you hike along the ridge.

So far this winter has been extremely mild with no snow and little rain. The first crossing of Jeremy's Run was impossible for me to do without taking off my shoes/socks and rolling my pants up above my knees and wading through (that will sure wake you up in late December!). I can't imagine trying to cross here after a heavy rain or in the Spring (bring your water wings)? As you continue to hike upstream the other numerous crossing arent as bad but can be a challenge to stay dry (either hop between slippery rocks or tight rope walk the fallen tree).

From the advice of this site I made the big waterfall my campsite destination. I rolled in there around 5:30 pm in the dark and again had to remove my socks and shoes to wade through the ice cold calf deep water to reach the site on the opposite bank. It was definitely worth the effort as this is a spectacular site.

I'm guessing that this hike took a total of 8 hours of pure hiking time for me and I consider myself to be in decent shape. This site says you can do it in 6.5 (which includes a stop for lunch!). Perhaps that can be done without a heavy pack and during a time when the water level is even lower than what I experienced but even then I would think that would be mighty speedy.

By: Max S. Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, August 20, 2011
Not for beginners! My friends and I decided to try backpacking and made this our 2 day hike. The first day started by going along the AT and across Neighbor Mtn. You face a tough climb on the AT followed further by shorter (but challenging) hills. Eventually you veer to the right onto the neighbor Mtn trail. This has some nice views and it a bit easier going than the AT section, but don't let your guard down you're not done yet. Eventually you make it to a trail marker to signify the tip top of the mountain. Take a break here. There are even a few spots to camp. Once you continue on, its about 2-3 miles entirely downhill to Jeremy's run. Once you reach the water, keep hiking until you reach the waterfall. You can't miss it and you just have to trust me on this. All the camp sites at the waterfall are on the opposite side of the creek as the trail. There is no good way to cross the creek at the area, so be creative. This is where you should camp for the night. It took us about 4-5 hours of hard hiking to reach this spot, so leave time (less time if you're in shape and experienced). The hike back up Jeremy's run is easier than the first day, with the only real challenge being the last 1.5 to 2 miles uphill.

This is a great 2 day hike, but if you are not in great shape or have not been hiking/backpacking much, I would find a shorter trail with less elevation change.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, June 11, 2011
Great trail.  Accurately described, well marked and wonderfully maintained.  Stream crossings were not bad as the level was low.  Also there are at least two great looking unpublished 1-2 tent camping sites at the north end of Jeremy's run trail roughly a mile before the intersection of Knob Mountain cutoff trail.  Keep those in mind on an overnight if you happen to be moving fast.

By: Orrman Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, June 11, 2011
Did this hike as an overnight and had a great time. It was my first hike after having the veins in my legs worked on. It was great to get back out with a pack on my back. Don't really know how long it took, but then again it was a hike not a race. I did this hike with my buddy, his son and a friend and we all enjoyed it. Take a look at the notes Jim B left. Those two places to camp are nice and right by the water.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, May 01, 2011
http://www.meetup.com/hiking-162/events/17013797/  I counted 17 not 14 water crossings (probably because of recent rains) which cooled off my feet as I waded thru them.  Some of the other 12 hikers tried to stay dry which led to lots of laughs.  The faster hikers finished in 4 hours slower in 5 hours.  Such a beautiful hike this was.  Many of the trees are showing their leaves and spring flowers are up on either side of the trail.  While 14.7 miles is quite long for me, the 2,600 elevation gain was not as difficult on this as on other hikes.  I believe the narrative on Neighbor Mountain should total 4.6 not 4.0 miles.  Correcting that error will give you the 14.7 miles listed at the top.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, October 30, 2010
Did this hike solo as an overnight backpacking trip. I hadn't backpacked in over 3 years, so I wanted something to get me back into it. This was a tough trip to get back into the game if you arent in shape!  The trails are well maintained and easy to find. The leaves were at their peak for colors and it was absolutely beautiful. I saw numerous trees and colors on this trip. The views on top of Neighbor Mountain were spectacular. I hit the overlooks around 4pm and the sun had just begun setting over the valley lighting up the small farms below.

I made it to the best waterfall on the hike at 5pm and made camp there for the night. Everything you could ask for was right there - water, flat spot for tent, plenty of trees for your bear bag. The sound of the waterfall was perfect to lull me to sleep. I would recommend camping at this area if you are new to camping or spending the night in the woods as the waterfall drowns out the unfamiliar noises of the woods (wind, creaks of trees, sticks/acorns falling). Very relaxing! 

The hike back up Jeremy's run was easy, until the end where it climbs fairly steeply. At that point, my legs were sore! The stream crossings were about ankle to calf deep, but with proper Gore-Tex shoes and gaiters, there will be no problem. Some parts of Jeremy's run trail will have you fighting rocks and roots on the trail, but nothing too bad.

Saw a few couples and another backpacker heading in the opposite direction on Neighbor Mountain Trail. After that, I didnt see anyone until I returned to Elkwallow picnic area. Overall a beautiful hike. I give it four stars becasue at some points it is a little rough with a heavy/overnight pack on. Definitely catagorized as a "Strenuous Beginner Hike."  I'd do it again in a heartbeat once I get back in shape!

By: Red Brixton Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, August 27, 2010
My daughter and I backbacked this over two days.  Our ratings:
  • Neighbor Mountain and Jeremy's Run trails were beautifully maintained. 
  • Not many views, but nicely shaded. 
  • Great campsite on Jeremy's run.
  • The ranger at Mathew's Arm warned us about the streams being dry but there was more than enough to re-fill our bottles.
BTW: My daughter and I printed the HikingUpward map and guide and never had to break out the PATC #9 map.   Thanks!

By: Trav Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, June 19, 2010
Three of us hiked this trail on a hot day but fortunately the tree canopy provided adequate shade.  As commented by the earlier post, I was not a big fan of all the roots and rocks on the trail as it follows the stream.  We also had issues with ticks on our legs and gear throughout the day.  We did camp two nights with one site being ideal just past the trail head about 1/5 of a mile down near the stream (flat stretch with no roots or rocks).  No scenic views as the leaf coverage blocked everything out.

By: The Tick Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, April 03, 2010
I did this hike on a beautiful Saturday with temps in the 70s. Perfect weather for the entire hike. I hiked it with a friend and we finished it in 4 hours 40 min. which was really fast. It felt like I was running the entire time. It was a long hike which is close to 15 miles. The first 9 to the bottom of Jeremy's run was Ok, no long uphills but several shorter ones to let you know you are still on a mountain. Walked along a ridge for most of the first 5 miles and wihtout leaves we had some nice views. When we started the uphill part of Jeremy's Run which is about 5 miles, is where the hike did not get 5 stars for me. It was a very rocky trail and many high water crossing. I was over my shoes on at least 5 of them and probably all 14 were hard crossings but I got lucky on some of them. Bring water shoes as I got pretty frustrated hiking in sloshing shoes. The incline is barely noticeable on the way up but i got pretty soaked. I would have rated it a 5 if I did not get soaked. Would do again but probably not until the summer.

By: Marty Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, October 04, 2009
Actually, I hiked over top of Knob mountain and back up Jeremy's Run which is a couple miles shorter than via Neighbor Mtn. I only saw 3 couples once I got off the AT.  Took me 5 hours plus 1/2 hour for lunch.  The water was flowing but low I can't imagine crossing the stream some 10 or so times in the spring.  Knob Mt did not have many views at all but was fine. The Knob Mt trail was mostly an easy slope, although the Knob Mt Cutoff was a bit steep but not bad. However, I have to say that the Jeremy's Run Trail is the gentlest slope I have every been on in Shenandoah while it still brought me up 1500 feet in elevation (over about 5.5 miles) - I never felt like I was going uphill!   Will try the longer Neighbor Mtn Trail now that I know the uphill is so easy.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, July 09, 2009
The Luray Trail Runners ran Jeremy's Run from the bottom trail head up to about two miles, turned around and came back.  Excellent path for running for the most part with a very steep switch back that made the calves and thighs burn!  The run started at 7am, the weather was perfect at a balmy 62 degrees.  The pools in the run were perfect for the dogs to cool off in.  This will be a favorite trail.

By: msdanigirl11 Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, July 03, 2009
During the AT portion of the trail, we saw several other hikers once we transferred to the yellow and blue blazed trail, we were the only hikers on the trail for the day.  If you are looking for solitude, this is the hike!  Although we saw several (and I mean several) droppings we believed to be bear, we did not actually see any bear on the hike.  At the beginning of the trail on the AT, there is a long significant ascent.  After this, the majority of the hike was fairly level along the ridge with really pretty views into the valley.  Towards the end of the blue blazed trail, there was another long, fast rising ascent that was challenging.  Although this trail has a large number of streams, they are pretty much contained within the blue-blazed portion of the trail.  We weren't bothered too much by flys, but did see plenty of ticks (make sure you wear long pants).  Great hike overall, would definitely recommend to advanced hikers who can go the distance and face the steep rises at times.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, July 03, 2009
I hiked down from Elkswallow, to the waterfalls and campsite--then returned the same way. By the time I reached Elkswallow again I was completely knackered. At about the 6.5KM mark I saw a big pile of scat I figured was bear.  I went on about 50M and heard these birds raising a storm to my left on the high groud and when I looked up I saw a black bear cub tearing up a tree at the speed of heat.  The mother stayed at the base staring at me.  I took some poor, but memorable video  of the mother about 50 yards away.  I moved on after about 3 minutes and came across more scat.  The location was between two river crossings and the scats--nicely bracketing where I saw the bears, so it should be easy to find again.  Someone else was camped on the other side of the run.  I turned around at the falls and fished at the crossings--catching 4 trout.  The only unpleasantness was the dead snake on the trail with those huge flies in their hundreds crawling all over it--yuk.  I saw 6 hikers the whole time--one of whom was doing it in flip-flops!!!  If you fish, take your licence with trout and NPS stamp--I was checked by the rangers as I was walking, exhausted, back to my truck.  What a great day!

By: Ronnen Rating: Date of Hike: Tuesday, June 24, 2008

We did the Mount Knob - Jeremy;s run loop.

Mount Knob trail is poorly maintained and full of ticks.  The view are standard SNP views, nothing special.

Jeremy's run is nice, but if you just try to reach the water, hundrends of elephant size flies will attack you, so you need to watch the water from far away.

Overall, too long hike, nice views at Jeremy's run.


By: Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, April 25, 2008
On the way down from Neighbor Mtn there is a wonderful spring with a waterfall, making a natural shower. The complete loop in one day is only suitable for hikers in good shape. I got quite exhausted by the time I got to the car. Watch out for ticks - there are plenty of them. 

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, March 15, 2008
This is a great hike but not for the novice. Be prepared for a real workout! It's best to do it when the days are long (unless you are doing it as an overnight backpacking trip). Allow ample time to enjoy both the view and stream. BTW, it supports a native Brook Trout Population.

By: CSaylorVT Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, November 03, 2007

I did a modified longer version of this hike.  Instead of turning right at Jeremy's Run Trail, I hiked up the Knob Mountain Trail to the Knob Mountain Cut-off trail  I consider myself a seasoned hiker, but this loop (at 16+ miles and a crazy amount of elevation change) was probably the hardest day hike I've done in my life, but at the same time one of the most rewarding.  This was done a few weeks after peak leaf color season, but still beautiful with blue skies, unlimited visibility, and 45 degree temps.  If you have it in you, the combo of nice views, interesting trail design (lots of switchbacks to me make a much more interesting hike) and solitude made this hike on of my top three of all time, along with Observation Point in Zion National Park and the Frying Pan Trail in Capitol Reef National Park.


Records 1 to 25 of 25
about us | home page | terms of use | © 2014