North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the Banshee Reeks Hike - 1 to 7 of 7   
Review the Banshee Reeks hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: Mark Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, January 07, 2018
Always love hiking at Banshee Reeks (it's only 10 minutes away), just wish it was open during the week. It's amazing to me in this area with so much development that an area like Banshee Reeks exists still with miles and miles of trails. I've been here many times and always find different routes to take and rarely do one a second time. You can go for a couple miles or pretty much hike all day if you want to. No great views really (though nice ones) like mountain hikes, but lots of variety of terrain and geography to experience. Very quiet and peaceful and rarely run into other hikers so it's a great place to take my dogs. They do a great job keeping the paths mowed and cleared when through meadows or in the woods where trees have fallen. Highly recommend it for a nice local hike for those in the Loudoun County (and beyond).

By: H&A Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, June 25, 2017
Very peaceful nature walk!! My dog and I enjoyed it very much and we will revisit soon.

By: Teri C Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, April 08, 2017
Nice hike. We did about 3 miles of the many trails in a little over an hour. I like the diversity, forested areas, meadows, creeks and ponds. Lots of birds, ran into large group of tree swallows.

When we arrived there were 20 or so cars in the parking lot but we only ran into two other families on our hike.

Most of the trails are wide mowed tracts but some of the trail markers have been worn off by the weather. Lots of criss-crossing paths, a map is very useful or practice your orienteering :)

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, November 20, 2016
Our small hiking group was looking for a safe hike on Sunday 11/20/16 when Gale Force winds were predicted for the region. We have learned to avoid the danger of being on the ridge of the mountains in a stand of old trees in high winds.  We wanted something on a hillside with southern exposure and young trees and vegetation for protection. We couldn't have picked a better hike. Gale Force winds, 45-56 mph, were reported at nearby Godfrey Airport in Leesburg, VA during our hike. We felt the wind but only up to 25 mph by the visitors center but for most the hike, we felt the wind to be up to 15 mph.. It was windy but the terrain gave us good protection.

We liked the trails with  the good signage that actually matched the map we printed from this website.

We had the trails to ourselves and enjoyed every minute of the hike. The place merits a revisit for us. It would be interesting to see it in the spring. I can imagine lots of birds and other wildlife. Even saw evidence of Pocket Gophers, something we have not seen before in hiking.

Don't let our 3 star rating discourage anyone from visiting. It might be the lack of difficulty that would not appeal to many. The short trails, streams, and the Goose Creek add a lot.  There was a bench placed along one of the nicest trails with a view of the woods and a stream. It was thought-inducing moment to pause there and enjoy being there. You could draw the scene, create a painting, write a few lines for a poem, or just enjoy.

It would seem like a good place for families with small children because the trails are easy and the short trails with many intersections give a chance to modify the route according to interest and endurance.

By: Songe Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, April 24, 2016
Nice meadow hike. Especially enjoyed the creek (Goose Creek Trail) and the pond (Spring House Trail). Watch out for ticks though! Found 3 on me and 1 on my husband

By: Hans (und Heidi) Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, February 07, 2016
Heidi always sees the good and gives a 4 star,and was charmed by the old buildings I thought less of this place w 2 stars. It was closer to home, that was nice mit limited time for the Supper Bowl . This day was 50 degrees with 8"-12" snow remaining in the low lands. The snow become like walking on a memory mattress so it made for a pleasant walk.

We walked the Old Log trail in mostly snow, and shortly upon heading north up the Bank barn trail the area was flooded , being frozen over. here and there. We swung wide of the trail following the animal trails to find suitable crossing and bushwhacked back to the trail. Return was by the Greenway route, which was a pleasant mud slog. We saw no one on the trail, and were the first to walk the Bank barn Trail since the big snow.

The wildlife here is abundant as the tracks from turkeys, critters and deer were everywhere. I would take heed of the warning signs that the place is infested with ticks.

By: Brian Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, January 16, 2016
I'm so glad this hike is finally on here. I've done this hike many times over the years, but not always along the same path that's described above. The park features many interconnecting trails so that you can build your own hike depending on what you'd like to see. Because the park is circular and the paths do a good job of criss-crossing the entire park, this is a great place for photographers since you can stay out well into golden hour and not necessarily have to hike out in the dark, or for people with limited hiking ability (older, younger, or inexperienced). It's also a great place to test out orienteering skills, since you can only get *so* lost in such a small park.

Wildlife is a big draw here. On any given day you can see many species of hawks and even eagles, songbirds, and mammals from the trails. The museum they have on the grounds is interesting and would serve as a good primer for people unfamiliar with the local ecology, or for children who can learn what to look for while they're out on the trail.

The area changes dramatically depending on the season, so this hike is worth multiple trips.

Records 1 to 7 of 7
about us | terms of use | © 2018