North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the CO Canal/Weaverton Cliff Hike - 1 to 9 of 9   
Review the CO Canal/Weaverton Cliff hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: Rick T Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, August 6, 2017
The mountain part of this hike is great - the view is fantastic - but the long section along the C&O Canal gets old if:

a.) you're local, and see both it and Harpers Ferry all the time, or
b.) you don't think of long, flat, smooth walking as "hiking".

On the other hand, if you were to skip the long section from Harpers Ferry up to the mountain trail (nearly 3 miles each way), you'd be left with a good (but too short for many) hike. So, although I'm rating this 4 stars, it would be more accurate to give it 4 stars for the short version and 3 for the longer one.

Other notes: It's a great one to take dogs on. We took our two German Shepherds with us for the entire 11 miles (our hike was longer since we had to park far from the train station in Harpers Ferry) and they loved it - plus we saw a LOT of other dog-owners on the trail that day.

By: Bret L Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, April 9, 2017
Although not a challenging hike it is a repreive from the crowds of Maryland Heights. There was a lot of traffic on the canal for the first mile, typical for a weekend, but thinned quickly near the 340 bridge. The view from the cliffs is worth the hike, not crowded for weekend with many soaring birds riding thermals. Overall a good alternative to the crowded Maryland Heights and easier hike when you want to an easy day

By: Brad K Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, November 14, 2016
This is an absolutely wonderful hike! I did the "big three" hikes surrounding Harpers Ferry this week and this would the the one I'd do again without hesitation. I was able to start soon after sunrise and it took just almost exactly 4 hours to complete at a moderate pace, including a nice break at the overlook. I did not see a single other person along the entire trail until right at the very end returning along the canal path. The first (and last) three miles of the hike are completely flat following the C&O canal, but the views along the way of the river & old canal are spectacular. The grade going up the ridge is steep, but the trail is well designed with switchbacks which made the elevation change almost painless. The only part I'd consider steep climbing was a short stretch right at the very top just before the overlook intersection. I would consider this a good introduction to mountain hiking for any flatlander novice. The views of the Potomac from the overlook are incredible and well worth the walk. Easily one of my favorites in the area!

By: Peter Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, August 9, 2014
I hike a portion of this hike often, but I do the much shorter version. In my view, there is no reason to do the C&O canal portion and make that part of your hike. I just take 340 east and take the Boonsboro exit. I then turn right on Weverton Cliffs road, and park in the commuter parking lot. From this point you are about 1.5 miles from the cliffs on the Appalachian trail. I run on the portion of the C&O canal towpath that is described, but honestly it's totally flat, there's lots of people, and for the most part you can't see the river through the trees.

The portion of this hike that goes from the commuter parking lot up to the cliffs is excellent. The trail changes from dirt to pretty rocky and back to dirt again. The one thing I really love about this area is the tall trees. Almost the entire hike you are under a huge canopy. For the most part this section of the trail is the most difficult, but if you are even in moderate hiking shape, it should be no problem at all. There is a significant increase in elevation right before you hit the top, with the shortest switchbacks I've ever seen.

This hike is VERY popular, (almost more so than the cliffs overlooking Harpers Ferry, because of the beauty of the overlook. When I go, I try to go early (prior to 9AM) because later than that and you come across a lot of people. The overlook is rocky, and it is a southern overlook, so you can see views to the west, east, and south. It's very pretty. One negative is that once on the overlook, you lose the solitude because you can hear 340 pretty clearly. But, all in all, it is a good hike to go on with a nice payoff.


By: Marc Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, December 7, 2013
This just isn't my type of hiking. The majority of the time is spent on the C&O canal tow path, with the river to your right (or left on the way back). The ascent to Weaverton Cliff is fairly nice, and the view at the top is pretty good, but it's just the one ascent and the one view. I think giving this a 4 for Views is a stretch, and in the end, I wished I had gone out to Shenandoah instead.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, October 13, 2012
Great hike! I started pre-dawn in the Harper's Ferry train station parking lot. I spent a good twenty minutes looking for the foot bridge as this was my first visit to downtown historic Harper's Ferry. From the parking lot go back down the street to find the trail! Enjoyed the hike along the C&O towpath along the Potomac. The tail is good and there is much to see. The hike up to Weverton Cliff was exhilarating, much like climbing a pile of rocks. I spent a half hour enjoying the view and the birdlife. The hike back to the truck was equally enjoyable. Back at the parking lot a park ranger gave me an envelope reminding me there is a $10 parking fee which I gladly paid.

By: Bob A. Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, April 1, 2012
Wonderful hike along the river & (eventually) up Weverton Cliff. Suggest you make revisions to your instructions, which now say "In 1.2 miles the tow path passes underneath US 340." (Recommend adding "This is the high bridge with cars on it which crosses the Potomac River.") "Continue for another 1.5 miles where the A.T. will turn left off the tow path and cross an active set of train tracks." (Recommend adding "If you see an old red brick structure on your left, probably the old lock master's building, you have gone too far down the tow path. Return to where you can see train tracks with the first parking area shown on the map close by. After leaving the parking area, if you miss the marker for the A.T.and continue up that road instead, you will come to the very busy US 340. Do not attempt to cross this dangerous highway. Instead look west (towards the cars coming at you) for the small highway bridge US 340 uses to cross Israel Creek, about 80 yards away. Facing the traffic, walk carefully along the side of the highway to that bridge, immediately adjacent to which you'll discover a short trail that leads you back down to the A.T." Someone had defaced the signs that would have otherwise pointed us properly in the right direction for turning left off the tow path to go across those tracks to the Weverton Cliff trail. So we ended up walking another 1 - 1 1/2 miles further east on the tow path, after someone had told us "the parking lot" was that direction! It's Weverton, BTW, not Weaverton Cliff.

By: John Applin Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, April 1, 2012
Weaverton Cliff is a good hike.  It's worth the gas driving to Harpers Ferry.  The C & O Canal's path surface is very hard on my feet.  However, the trail up the cliff was refreshingly soft.  I found the view spectacular.  I agree, camping is a 1.  There just isn't any place to camp.  As for streams, sure, there is one if you want to go down and then hike back up again.  As for solitude, I'm not a hiking purist so a little company on the trail is welcome.  Sure, I'd go again.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, June 26, 2011
I just got back from this hike and its a very pleasnt place to visit. Its a pretty easy hike and the hill at the end isnt that tough. The views at the top are more than worth it. Also what I really liked about it is when you get back you can explore Harpers Ferry and take in a bit of a Civil war lesson. We went into a pub and some of the stores there and everyone was really friendly. If you are concerned about running into people this place probably isnt for you. Along the tow path we were constantly being passed by bikers but if you just pay attention its not a problem. Overall I had an awesome expierence!

Records 1 to 9 of 9
about us | terms of use | © 2018