North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the Double Bear Rocks Hike - 1 to 10 of 10   
Review the Double Bear Rocks hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: nort Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, December 16, 2017
Nice hike, not very strenuous. I thought there might be better views with all the leaves down, but aside from the overlook there really weren't many/any views at all. It's a nice walk in the woods, though, and there were a couple inches of snow blanketing the north side of Pass Mt. The spring at the hut was just a trickle but it was running.

By: AA Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, May 29, 2017
Steady uphill almost the entire way to the top, though it was not a terribly strenuous grade. There wasn't much as far as scenery to look at other than the woods, which is always nice. We went slowly though steadily and it took us about 4 hours to get to Double Bear Rocks. The view was minimal from the rock outcropping, but a nice place to sit for a bit and have a snack nonetheless. There was gorgeous pink mountain laurel blooming that was a special treat. The way back was almost entirely downhill other than a short section upward close to the outcropping and took about 2.5 hours. We saw a small orange salamander and a few flowers but not much else. Our fitbits all said 10 miles (plus some) by the time it was said and done, so we were questioning if the mileage listed on this is accurate, but who knows- those are not always accurate themselves.

By: Steve Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, May 15, 2017
I read the reviews from 2016, generally, agree, and won't repeat all the points. I think I liked the hike a bit more. This is one of the smoothest, nicest-on-the-feet hikes I've been on in the park. I'd say over 80% of the trail is packed dirt or gravel, smooth except for quite a few roots, a few of which I stumbled over (their appearance kind of blends in with the soil) -- just watch and you'll be OK. The overlook at Double Bear Rocks was quite nice to me -- I could see Kennedy Peak. Was a bit disappointed there was no view to speak of from the top of Pass Mountain (at least from the trail). Virginia State Police were very active enforcing traffic along Rt. 211 including near the trailhead -- they were pulling one car after another into the hike parking area, I think for going over the lowered speed limits on the curves. I advise strictly observing the speed limits along Rt. 211 and as you approach the parking area.

By: The Wanderer Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, October 20, 2016
I did this hike for my own in October 2016 and I plan to do this hike again this autumn. It was a sunny day in October but I didn't meet any person on the complete hike. I took a ratch with me because of black bears. I used the ratch from time to time on my way uphill and I didn't meet anybody nor a human nor a black bear. It was very lonely there. On my way downhill I missed to use my ratch on the last mile or a little bit more. Suddenly two younger black bears crossed the footpath 30 meters in front of me on their way downhill. 200 - 300 meters later I saw another black bear more far away in the glen.

By: VSOP Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, July 2, 2016
With the great weather for the beginning of the 4th of July weekend and needing to get out on a training hike I did this hike. I hadn't been out in a while so the length and profile were good for a start. And I wanted to try something new. This is a good hike if you don't want to be out all day. One thing I'd add to the directions is that the pull off on Rt 211 is the second one on the left, and the smaller of the two, if you are coming from the East. It's about 45 yards short of the trail head which is on the westbound side of the road on the outside of the hairpin turn. The trail is pretty well maintained and uses some narrow fire roads in places. There aren't any spectacular views until you get to Double Bear Rocks overlook. The grade is about right to stretch out and is pretty much straight up after some early switchbacks. Fthe first trail intersection marker upward to Pass Mt Hut, there's FRESH bear sign all the way. In the trail and just off it. Scat and overturned rocks. I spooked something off the trail on the way up but couldn't see what it was. I stopped and it stopped and it bolted when I took a few more steps. There were two springs along the way to the hut that were running well. It took me 90min at what I'd consider a leisurely pace to get to the hut. The Pass Mt Hut spring was running good. Shelter was swept clean. There seems to be ample area for tent camping to the right and left of the shelter. It has two latrines of which one is a composter. Probably a good thing if you get the stomach bug advertised on the poster at the shelter. Sure beats NO latrines in TN!

By: Threehikers Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, June 25, 2016
A nice hike with uphill going out and downhill on the return. The trailhead requires careful road crossing to avoid traffic that is moving at some speed coming down the mountain, being across the road and uphill from the parking area. We ran into a couple of blowdown S from the recent storms but you can get across them if careful. The new privy at Pass Mountain hut is first class! The AT once you are past the hut is a slight climb and once you cross the summit it is downhill until the side trail to the rocks. The vegetation has grown up so the views were limited and our day featured low clouds also. A nice walk in the woods with varied forests and good trail conditions.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, May 29, 2016
This is a really nice walk in the woods, and is apparently a lesser known trail so the solitude was pretty good. I only ran into a few other hikers and one bear. I would highly dispute the rating of "4" for views. The one overlook is nice, but not great. Be careful on the Pass Mountain trail as it is a bit overgrown so there are lots of opportunities for ticks to latch on. The main highlight of this hike for me was being able to observe a black bear, which you can see here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SasjuOxs2rs

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, May 13, 2016
My fiancée and I enjoyed doing this hike in mid-May. If you're driving east on 211 from Luray and the gravel parking area is on your right, then the trailhead is behind you, across the road. As other reviewers noted, the first stretch is a steady incline, but it does get easier. The trail was narrow in spots, but well-marked and comfortable -- often just dirt or pine needles, rather than loose rocks. We a saw a black bear moving away from us near the creek crossing, plus a crazy amount of long black millipedes along the trail, and there were some friendly campers and AT hikers at the shelter. The overlook at the turnaround point is decent. I'd say the best things about this hike were the solitude and the lush scenery.

By: aldikuma Rating: Date of Hike: Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Nice, easier hike. The views are not as spectacular as other parts of SNP, but still beautiful with the rocks in the foreground of the scene. A note about parking: from the parking area, you should walk through the flat, open, grassy (and sometimes muddy) area to reach the guardrail. You'll see a faint trail. From there, you have a better view of the cars coming downhill. Climb over the guardrail and go carefully directly across the road. At the right end of the guardrail there, you'll see the trailhead. The steady uphill is not bad, but a good workout. It was had been very dry, so the water was low on the few crossings. Didn't see anyone until I reached the shelter, where I stopped to chat with a backpacker who had just started his journey of two months on the AT. We talked about the missing firefighter and wildfire in southern SNP. From here, it's an easy hike with a little uphill to the vista. During summer when the trees are full, you're view will be a little less, so this hike is probably better fall-spring. Spring is gorgeous with everything blooming! Spotted a mama black bear and her adorable cub right off the AT, who just curiously watched as we walked by. Beautiful animals. Shortly after that we came across several deer - also beautiful. I've hike hundreds of miles in SNP, WV, and GWNF and haven't seen that much wildlife in a short span! Love the protected animals in SNP. :) Hike back down was easy. Overall a nice hike and it didn't feel like 8.5 miles at all.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, April 17, 2016
I saw this pop up on the site the other day so I thought I'd give it a try. We arrived at the parking area around 9:15 this morning and proceeded to play Frogger trying to get across the road. It's a pretty bad spot to cross, but pay attention and it's doable. The trail starts about 100 yards up the road, so just head up the mountain until you reach the trailhead. The first two miles are pretty much up. Not a steep up, but a sustained one. I was definitely feeling it by the time the trail leveled out. Once it levels out it's a beautiful walk in the woods to the Pass Mountain Shelter. The shelter is a great spot to take a break, use the latrine, and refill water if necessary. Then it's up to the AT, turn right and head up Pass Mountain. It's a fairly easy walk to the top, and then it's downhill to the rocks. This site says it's just over half a mile from the summit to the rocks, I think that's a little off. I clocked it at around a third of a mile. No real difficulty, it's pretty hard to miss the rocks. Enjoy the view, then retrace your steps back to the car. Once you get back to the top of Pass Mountain, it's downhill the rest of the way.

Being the first really nice weekend of this Spring, we bumped into lots of people. I'd definitely knock the Solitude number down one on the pretty weekends. Still, a great view and a nice hike. We just shared it with a few other people.

Records 1 to 10 of 10
about us | terms of use | © 2018