North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the Falls Ridge Hike - 1 to 11 of 11   
Review the Falls Ridge hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: P David Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, April 14, 2018
We parked where FR 252 joined the Purple Trail. The campsites along FR 252 are right next to the dusty road. The hike up the Yellow Trail is pretty tough for 60yr olds with 40lb packs. Day packs would have made the climb easier if we were not going to spend the night. There is a nice campsite along the Red Trail about half way to the Falls. After two weeks of no rain, the Falls were OK, but not spectacular. It is possible to fill water bottles at the Falls, but difficult due to small pools and lots of rocks. We returned the same way after spending the night. 5.8 miles total. Good to see once, but not worth the effort for another trip.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, December 31, 2017
Parked at the end of 252, mid morning. There was a couple inches of snow already and more falling. Walked up and took the waterfall trail, I bushwacked over to the top of the waterfall, but you cant really see anything. Just a small creek feeds the falls. Walked down the short but steep falls trail. I had Yaktrax on my boots or I would have fallen many times, it was very slick in the snow. It had been cold for a while and the falls were frozen, and it was spectacular! This gigantic mound of blue ice at the bottom, made of ice globes that were clear when you picked one up. There was this huge mass of icicles stretching down from the top and covering all the edges of the rocks, it looked like a frozen sculpture. I took a bunch of pictures. The whole gully with the high sides makes a scenic view. I walked back to the trail and up to the top of the ridge, not much to see and it was very cold. I broke out the Esbit stove and made a cup of tea to warm up, and since it was nearing sundown, I went back the same way. I have good flashlights and was fine. The hunting season was still open, I wear one of those orange safety vests.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, July 23, 2017
A decent hike with a very long and steep slog up the mountain. We walked in from the locked Laurel Run gate on FR 252, so our hike was 2 miles in, the 6.9-mile hike itself, and 2 miles out.

The directions on here led us to believe that it might be hard to spot the side trail to the waterfall. Not so. There is a very large cairn marked with a white blaze opposite the trail. And the waterfall trail is newly marked with bright white blazes. We were alone at the falls and we saw one other couple all day, who came in from the dirt road in WV and were doing the Laurel Run circuit.

All in all, 6 of our miles were road walk and 4 were beastly up hill. Although a welcome respite from the heat, the small waterfall was probably not sufficient payoff for all the work, especially now that in the summer, there are no views from the top of the Stack Rock Trail as there are in the winter.

Trip report and photos: https://mangiabeve.blogspot.com/2017/07/falls-ridge-hike-gwnf-liberty-furnace-va.html

By: Colin Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, December 03, 2016
We parked at the 701 alternate spot, which allowed us to camp at the end along the fire road.

First off, I am not sure how this is not a 5 star for difficulty. I have done numerous other "5 star" hikes from this website, and this was brutal. Me and my hiking partner are in decent shape and were carrying 35-40 lb packs. The initial climb is long, steep, and difficult. It was a very tough climb, with the water fall in between not exactly a respite. The climb to the waterfall is quite a descent, which requires you to then climb back up (not a scramble, on the trail). The waterfall is very cool, and the cliffs surrounding it have to be some of the tallest in the area.

We made it to the peak and began the descent down the switch backs. The views were great here, but the going was tough due to the steepness of the grade and the slippery leaves. Once at the bottom we turned left to add mileage to our hike. We eventually ended up at the second camp site they mention and spent the night. There is a no fire law in order until 2/1/17 which was a bummer (and cold).

We did not see a single other hiker on the mountain, but there were many hunters below on the fire road. Overall this was a challenging hike (especially the beginning) with a very well maintained trail. There is very little flat ground on this hike aside from the fire road. The majority is either climbing or descending.

By: KT Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, August 27, 2016
Despite a little road walking, this is a very nice hike with some good views, even in the summer. I parked at the Stack Rock Trail head and hiked clockwise. Either way you hike this, there is a good deal of climbing about 1,750 in a mile and a half. I found the side trail to the waterfall easy to follow and the stream was running (Aug. 2016). As described, the side trail to the falls is faintly blazed, but the blazes were easy to follow and the tread was well-worn. Note that the trail is blazed red and yellow until the split with the red trail heading to the waterfall and the yellow trail heading above the falls to a campsite (per the PATC Guide). The real treat to this hike, IMHO, is after viewing the waterfall, hike back up to the split and take a left head back uphill toward the stream. You will shortly reach a crest and the yellow side trail will start to head downhill. Here veer off the trail to the left and bushwhack down to the top of the cliff ABOVE the falls. The view is great with a narrow gorge, reminiscent of Big Devils Stairs, and view out into the valley and of Bryce Ski Resort. So even if the waterfall is not running, you will have something for your efforts.

By: Suzy & Tom Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, April 03, 2016
FR252 was not open so we drove to the VA701/Dellinger Gap parking area which is at the end of the 701. The trail starts near the white house's driveway and immediately goes over a creek. The waterfall is definitely worth seeing, trail a little tricky on the return.  From the parking area to Stack Rocks trail is uphill the whole way. Enjoyed the views on the Stack Rocks trail as we descended.  View would not be as good after leaf out.  The fire road was a long but easy walk.  Didn't see anyone else all day.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, December 25, 2015
This hike was great! I followed the directions to a T. The waterfall was neat, nothing spectacular. I like to hike to the top of waterfalls to see the water coming down. In this case I had to travel through some thorny patches. I would not recommend doing it. It was not worth it. My only issue is that when you go onto the red-blazed trail you get to a point where it splits off where the red-blazed trail goes to the left and the yellow-blazed trail goes off to the right. Stay on the red-blazed trail as the instructions say. When you come back, continue on the red-blazed trail back to the main yellow-blazed trail and then continue the hike. There are so many options to make this hike longer. All in all it was a good hike and I would do it again.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, November 14, 2015
We started out where the Falls Ridge Trails connects to 701, which was not at all intuitive to locate since the trailhead is nestled between a private dirt road, a driveway, and tracts of private property and buried in a sea of red-blazed "bearing trees".  There is a pull-off on the right side as you approach the trailhead that apparently serves as parking (we didn't get towed or left any nasty messages anyway), but from there you have to walk right up what appears to be a private home's driveway.  The yellow blazes are very faded, but we found one and were on our way.

The topo map is no lie, Falls Ridge Trail from 701 is entirely uphill, and until you are just past the side trail for the falls, it's very steep.  However, the trail is well maintained and with the leaves mostly off of the trees, looking back over your shoulder now and again afforded some great views!  The side trail to the falls IS blazed, but the blazes are faded in both directions and the trail was easy to lose in all of the fallen leaves.  There are plenty of well-worn games trails to add some additional confusion.

The falls are well worth the effort to get to them from our starting point, tucked in their own little valley.  Absolutely beautiful!  Just be very careful navigating the rocks down to the falls.  Not only are they slick within the radius of the spray of the falls, but the leaf cover made even the dry areas treacherous as you could not see cracks and holes between the rocks.  We also took some time to climb up to the top of the falls, where you'll find a small rocky outcrop with a really nice view down the valley.  Somewhere along the falls trail I did pick up a deer tick, which I found when we got back to the intersection with Falls Ridge Trail.

Falls Ridge Trail and Stack Rock Trail are both bordered heavily in mountain laurel, so would really like to come back in late spring to see them all in bloom!  Stack Rock Trail has some really nice views with the foliage off of the trees as well, but is a very steep descent and was treacherous in the fallen leaves, which were a little more than ankle deep in some sections and were primarily oak and extremely slippery (and it was dry, so damp conditions would likely make it even worse).  We saw several deer hunters along Forest Road, but otherwise encountered no people anywhere along the trails.  There were also a few areas with some nice southeastern valley views from Forestry Road.

The difficulty rating is accurate.  You definitely get a work out doing this loop, but we found it worth the effort and hope to return!

By: aldikuma Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, August 27, 2015
Hiked the original Falls Ridge before it was renamed Great North Mountain hike here on HU. This updated Falls Ridge was a nice, quick day hike, but with a few highlights, including the waterfall. Certainly worth it, but I caught on a dry day, so it was just a trickle. I would like to come back after a rain to see it when it's really running. A nice hike more on the easier side of the scale.

By: Michelle Roberts Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, June 14, 2015
My husband and I hiked this one starting in the afternoon. It is exhausting. You climb and climb and climb and then climb some more. It was a great relief to get to the waterfall, and we really enjoyed our time there alone. However, by the time you climb your way out of there back to the main trail the refreshment of the waterfall has already worn off. You have a lot more climbing to do once you get back to the main trail. You do eventually go downhill. What a relief! The waterfall was nice, but this was definitely a one-time only trail. A better option might be to hike to the waterfall, and then back to the starting point.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, June 06, 2015
I hiked up to the water fall from the end of route 701 on the Falls Ridge Trail as an out and back. The hike up is short but steep. The Mtn Laural was blooming and the cliff and waterfall are not to be missed!

After all the rain last week I think I went at a great time for water flows. If nothing else go check out the waterfall! Coming back from the waterfall the trail is a little tricky but I left stick X's to mark the correct way back out/up. Very slick rocks approaching the fall under the cliff when I was there.https://www.facebook.com/matt.pitzer.58/videos/vb.1099339041/10206096665671202/?type=2&theater

Records 1 to 11 of 11
about us | terms of use | © 2018