North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the High Falls Hike - 1 to 14 of 14   
Review the High Falls hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: John Rogers Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, August 18, 2018
My lady and I did this hike over the past weekend. We hiked out to a fabulous campsite by the river about a half mile from the falls and spent the night. The trail is in great shape along the way and the fishing looked like it would be excellent down around where we camped. We both loved it and recommend it to anyone looking for a quick get away.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, January 22, 2017
This is an excellent out/back hike, especially off-season. We found it to be very well marked, so perhaps it's been re-blazed since the previous reviewers. We are generally fit but not speed hikers, and we took about 3:30 out/back, and another 45 minutes for lunch at the falls (4.15 total time). We found the grade to be steady. The steepest stretches were a short section right as you leave the meadow nearest the trail head, and then right as you drop onto the river. Lots of switchbacks made for a mellow grade otherwise, and we found the elevation summary pretty accurate.

We had the entire hike to ourselves, but can easily see how it could be quite busy on a nice warm day in high season. There were a lot of seeps so plenty of water if you run out, and we enjoyed the picnic benches down at the depot/river. There's also been a lot of work to build a staircase, etc., looks pretty new (just this past season?). We had lunch right at the base of the falls and enjoyed the cool spray. The only negative to the hike is that there isn't much of a trail next to the rail bed, but that's a pretty minor thing. We're also guessing it would be a little tricky in icy weather. Laslty, it was a little further drive from Alpena than we were expecting, but that may say more about our map skills than about the info on this website. Thanks to all who have had a hand in this website, including previous reviewers!

By: Peter Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, August 6, 2016
This is an EPIC hike. Out of my top 10 hikes, this one is now #2. Abdolutely beautiful scenery. ENOURMOUS mushrooms abound. The ascents are not too hard, and there are very few rocky areas, and a few muddy spots. There was also an abundance of blackberries. We arrived at the falls just as the Durbin express was unloading, so we even got a few pictures with the train. The falls were very full and every bit of the 10 of 10 that my West Virginia waterfalls book gave them for beauty. Below the falls is a HUGE swimming hole, and at 6'3 the water went way over my head. It was every bit of a wonderful experience. There are a few detractors in this hike. They are: 1. The blue trail markers are few and far between a few miles into the hike. Forrunately the intersections are typically well marked. 2. The rock is UNBELIEVABLY SLICK above the falls. I slid on my butt to get to the other side. The rocks are also very slick getting into the swimming hole. 3. The port-a-potties they have there were nasty and you can smell them from 50 yards away. 4. It is very wet there, making the rocks very slick. Travel slow in rocky areas. I am currently at the Emergency Room in Petersburg because my friend fell and cracked open her head. It is not wise to hike very fast. Aside from those things, this hike was phenomenal. If it wasn't so far away from home, Id come here every week.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, May 17, 2015
Beautiful hike!! Took our dogs they loved it!!

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, May 15, 2015
We stayed at the Middle Mountain Cabins and made the 40 min drive to the Trail where the Wife, 2 dogs and I made the hike...What a Beautiful adventure!! We have the cabins reserved again this year (2016) with some friends who we hope will enjoy it as much as we did!

By: NateC4 Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, August 23, 2014
Absolutely love this hike! We have come up here for the last three years to jump off the falls and camp. The hike to the falls is a quick 2-3 hours depending on your pace and the campsites are great. There are even modern conveniences including porta-potties and trashcans right by the falls.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, January 4, 2014
Great winter day hike! Bluebird day with 6" of fresh snow hanging on all the trees, no tracks on the trail, nobody at the falls. Doesn't get much better than that! Trail was well marked where it ran with Allegheny Trail but blazing is sporadic on section after Allegheny Trail cut off up the ridge. Still the trail was fairly evident and didn't have any problems locating it. 4* when I started but warmed up nicely and was 32* when I got back to truck. Took about 5 hours including 1/2 hour spent at the falls.

By: Russell Tuning Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, April 25, 2013
This is a real nice hike.It took me and a freind about 2 hours to reach the falls.Real good fishing and a beautifull place.Well worth the trip.The front side of the mountain is marked real good and easy to fallow but the back side needs work and very hard to find the trail.

By: salzapal Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, May 27, 2012
We took the whole family ( three boys). Even our seven year old did great. Make sure to wear long pants as there are plenty of stickers and thorns early on. If you don't bring water there are a few running streams you can fill up and tastes great too. We use a filter. Once on top of the mountain there are lots of ferns and it is a lovely forest. We followed the train tracks all the way to the falls. The trail is marked very well. We made it to the falls in three hours and set up camp by the river. There are several primo campsites there. The roar of the falls made the perfect white noise for sleeping. The falls can be safely swam and several people jumped from the falls and swam to the shore. It was an outdoor adventure playland.

By: Ken Hicks Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, May 19, 2012
I did this as a day hike a few weeks ago and as an overnight backpacking trip this weekend.  Loved it!  Great campsite right at the river above the falls.  My GPS said the round trip was about 9.5 miles though, not 8.2.  Overall a great hike!

By: Marty Rating: Date of Hike: Tuesday, April 17, 2012
From the trailhead, I hiked about a mile to Allegheny Trail on top of Shavers Mountain, then southwest for a mile to Wildell Shelter. I then decended Shavers Mountain, along a laurel choked stream,(I found stumbled onto a trail near the bottom) about a mile to the northwest, to acampsite along therailroad at a sharp bend. The next day I hiked along the railroad, two miles to the northeast, to High Falls. I then took theHigh Falls Trail back to the car.

By: Jeffrey Bailey Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, July 28, 2011
Started this hike with 4 firends on a Thursday evening. We made it to the falls with full packs in about 2 hours. Excellent campsite on the saddle of Shavers Mt, but no water. Falls were excellent. I would rate them as good as BW Falls. We camped at an established campsite about 0.3 miles upstream of the falls. Perfect place for several backpackers. Stayed all day near the camp and a bit beyond. Lounged in Shavers Fork and took in the quiet forested setting. Also tried some trout fishing. The water was low and difficult to fish. But no matter - this place was a was great stay. I would recommend it as a day hike or at least an ovenighter.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, October 1, 2010
Great hike. Only issue was that leaves covered the trail making it hard to follow in places. Also, had a hard time getting from the railroad tracks back onto the trail on my return. My GPS saved me. Trainload of tourists showed up as I was leaving the falls, but I got some nice pics of the train!

By: Bev Johnston Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, August 30, 2009
Beautiful country and it was worth the time to see the falls. First time I had been on a trail with so many rocks on the trail.

Records 1 to 14 of 14
about us | terms of use | © 2018