North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the Hone Quarry Ridge Hike - 1 to 14 of 14   
Review the Hone Quarry Ridge hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, October 29, 2016
Nice hike, lots of solitude (the only people we saw were at the campground), and a good workout. Parts of the trail are really overgrown and we were grateful for the parts on a fire road. I would turn left at the fire road instread of crossing and following the spur then meeting back with the fire road after .4 miles. The spur trail was more of a bushwhack and we emerged covered in scrapes and cuts and no less than 20 ticks each. You will get nice views though along the ridge, at least in the fall.

My gps told me we hiked closer to 7 miles and I have seen this trail as over 6 on other websites, so I wonder if we somehow extended it? It took us almost 3hrs 40mins to hike, with 15min for lunch at the overlook. And that is closer to our time for a 7 mile hike. The directions matched, but the distances didn't.

By: Ted J. Rating: Date of Hike: Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Started the loop on the Big Hollow Trail. Once I got to the ridge trail conditions changed markedly. Hiked about 1 1/2 miles on the ridge toward the Heart Break Trail, until the overgrowth with blackberry brambles finally became too thick, so I turned around. The ridge trail is no longer maintained, many downed trees to crawl over and thick brambles to push through. Glad I wore long pants, but arms got badly cut up as I was wearing only a t-shirt. Saw more bear scat than I have ever seen in this area, a pile every 20 feet on the ridge trail. But no bears. The only bear I encountered had been in my campsite and tore up my gas can while I was hiking.. I do not recommend this hike, - or at least the section along the ridge.

By: Bridgewaterhikers Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, August 09, 2015
This was a nice hike, particularly if you are looking for a workout with hills. The scenery is nice, the creek bed is beautiful. However, the upper portions of the trail are really overgrown. We never felt like we lost the trail, but we spent a lot of time climbing over branches and trying to get around pricker bushes without getting scratched up too badly. When we arrived at the first intersection with the abandoned fire road, we scouted out the first 200 yards of the trail on the other side. It was so overgrown we decided to just hike right up the fire road instead.
There is a small parking area just on the other side of the slab bridge which is just a few yards from the entrance to the trail. The entrance to the trail looks more like a driveway than a trail and is not marked. We were a little thrown off because a car actually pulled out from it when we were approaching it. The trailhead is just about .1 miles up the "driveway".

By: adt36 Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, May 16, 2015
This hike took me ~3 hours, with just a ~10 minute stop at the Abbie Point overlook (no lunch stop). It's a moderately difficult hike overall, with some steep spots for a good workout. As other reviewers have mentioned, this trail is *very* overgrown in parts. Note - there was *no intersection* between Hone Quarry Mountain/435 trail and Heartbreak/435A trail! The description says you arrive at the intersection of the Hone Quarry and Heartbreak trails, after which the Hone Quarry Mountain trail is closed. This section of the trail is one of the most overgrown, so I was becoming concerned I had somehow missed the intersection and was on the closed Hone Quarry Mountain trail, until it became apparent I was actually on the Heartbreak trail. I think enough time must have passed that the closed part of the Hone Quarry Mountain trail is no longer noticeable and the path just feeds into the Heartbreak trail naturally, with no intersection. Luckily, the rest of the trail description is very detailed and accurate.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, October 12, 2013
Amanda, The trails, as well as the National Forest in general, are open. What is closed due to the shutdown are the developed sites, such as campgrounds. I didn't hike this specific trail yesterday, but I did spend all day in the area hiking and generally having a good time. Calling the Forest Service office probably won't help since no one is there to answer the phones. Good luck!

By: Anieta McCracken Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, November 12, 2012
We hiked in the when the trail was leaf littered making the trail a bit difficult to follow. What is not shown on the map is a off trail that goes from Hone Quarry Ridge down to Briary Branch Road. We somehow missed a turn and ended up on that trail, flagged the same color as the Hone Quarry Trail. We ended up on Briary Branch Road with an 8-mile walk back to the Hone Quarry Trail start. We asked three motorists for our location before we figured out our error and were confident we were headed back to the car. Total distance covered that day: about 15 miles!

It would have been nice if the trail markers were in different colors as a warning.

Even so, we were prepared. And we had started out earlier enough that we still made it back to the car before dark.

By: gandtoro Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, May 19, 2012
This was a nice hike.  The difficulty rating is spot on.  This hike took a little under 3 hours.  The trail was quite overgrown in places, but it was still a good hike. 

By: LightFoot Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, February 17, 2012
We started the hike at about 1:30 and finished up at 5:00, and we didn't take time for lunch. I would allow more time than the stated 3 hours. This was a great hike. The rating of a 3 is just about right. The trail was alittle rocky at times. There was about 2 miles of uphill hiking so it was a great workout. It was quiet and peaceful. The sound of the small stream was wonderful. If you are into camping, there are some great camping sites there. I imagine that it could get busy during the warmer months.

By: Noobiehiker Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, January 22, 2011
Great place to go and relax and get a little exercise! We camped at the campground Sat-Sunday. Plenty of wood on the ground for a fire and had a blast. Was around 12 degrees in the morning but warmed up well once the Sun came up. The hike was a pleasure, all around.

Can't say enough about the camp ground. Fire pits were great, the stream was low but created a soothing sound to help fall asleep. Awesome place to go, hike and enjoy the easyness of car camping.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, April 29, 2010
A note that the Forest Service is starting a controlled burn in this area on 4/30 and it may close the trail for up to a week.

We hiked on a cool morning and warm afternoon taking time to really enjoy the varied views and plant life. We camped at Hone Quarry campground which is very nice and hiked the Ridge on the second day. I would rate this hike as good for early season views before all the leaves come out. The difficulty rating of 3 is fair as there are a couple of steep areas without switchbacks. It is not too long but a good workout. There are a couple of camping sites on the ridge but no water source that we found.

By: Jen Rating: Date of Hike: Wednesday, April 07, 2010
I didn't hike this exact path, but if you go past the recreation area there is a trail marked with yellow lines on the trees.  If you hike up there about a mile you will find amazing waterfalls.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, April 04, 2010
This was a nice hike overall. The view from Abbie Overlook is great. I forgot my directions at home but the trail is marked well enough that you don't really need them. Me and the dog didn't see any animals the whole time but found lots of deer droppings.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, March 07, 2010
Hike was first one of the year with family. had to wade across stream and IT WAS COLD! Wife had to stop on a rock halfway across to let her feet warm up a bit. after drying feet and putting boots back on we moved up into the snow. We had Mnt. biked this trail when the kids were younger (I do not advise that unless you are J. Bishop), but now, on foot it is a very nice hike.

Daughter (16 yr. old) set a nice pace and took lead post-holing in the snow (usually about 6 in. to a ft.) and giving the rest of us steps in the steeper sections. After turning onto ridge trail we encountered mostly melted trail and were able to walk on leaves dirt and pine needles. the smell was of spring even with snow all around. Dog was crazy being on the trail again--he's a shepherd and loves being out in the wood. Stopped for lunch on the rock outcrop on the south side of the trail just before dropping down onto the saddle.

We were in shirt-sleeves for most of the hike, snow was as deep as 2 feet in areas and completely absent from the trail in others.

Took 3 hours, including a 1/2 hour for lunch. saw a couple of mtn. bikers and some campers, on the road below.

Really enjoyable day and a great snow walk

By: Brad Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, January 31, 2009
This is a great loop hike with some marvelous views, especially in the winter. The trails are well marked and the route guide on this site is accurate. The trail was icy in some spots from the last snowfall my yaktraks were a great help.

Records 1 to 14 of 14
about us | terms of use | © 2018