North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the Manassas B.F. Groveton Hike - 1 to 14 of 14   
Review the Manassas B.F. Groveton hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: aldikuma Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, November 11, 2017
Chilly day for a hike, but this was a good, easy length. If you love history and long walks, do this hike. The trails are well marked and the description below is excellent. Be sure to stop at all the markers to take in what happened here over 156 years ago, and perhaps have a moment of silence for the lives lost. The only thing I will note are the road crossings - there are no crosswalks so use caution, especially crossing Lee Hwy, and again at Sudley Rd to the Visitors Center at the end. Also, it is free to enter and park.

By: Jeff P Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, January 29, 2017
A great trail. I took my dog and she had no issues. Not as crowded as 1st Manassas Battlefield. If you are a Civil War history buff, you will enjoy this trail (as well as 1st Manassas Trail). It is at least 6.2 miles in length. The trail is well marked except for a few spots. Good variety of meadows and woodland. Amazing that it is so close to town but does not feel that way during the hike.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, May 27, 2016
Had a fine hike on an interesting trail with several informative historical markers. The printable map for this hike has other historical information on several points along the way. Trail in good condition, just one longer muddy patch and several shorter ones of no significance. The trail churned up in parts from horses. Quite a bit of the trail is in the open so sun protection is important. Unlike a previous review, no ticks, few bugs of any kind. Movie on the hour at the visitor's center. As I write this the description says there's a $3 fee per person but according to staff this is no longer the case -- it is now a fee-exempt site. (An outlying trail sign still confusingly says to pay the fee.) Was glad to have the GPS to keep me on track.

By: Mark n Punc Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, July 17, 2015
We did this hike after doing all of the other small loops around the Battlefield. Added another 2 miles by going to the farm in the NW quadrant of the park, there's a water fountain there, which is one of only two water sources in the park. This is a nice section if you're looking to get away from the crowds and touristy areas, with hard pack dirt instead of the usual gravel chips. Downsides as previously mentioned: somewhat poor marking, and the take along maps do not display this as one loop. Another downside as of 2015: ticks, ticks everywhere. My four legged hiking buddy has often come back from the battlefields covered with ticks. A great stretch if you want to see a different side of the battlefields.

By: Mike G Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, September 07, 2014
First time doing the 2nd Manassas Trail loop and was pleasantly surprised - the back sections around the Unfinished Railroad Grade featured several beautiful fields overgrown with wildflowers, and the trails were generally quieter than the more popular Matthews Hill/Stone Bridge loop. I agree with some of the other reviewers that there are a couple sections that are poorly marked, but overall it's a nice hike that you don't have to travel far to enjoy.

By: Theresa Coates Ellis Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, October 21, 2012
We had the itch to grab some fall splendor.  Our time was limited so we drove to the Manassas Battlefield, 10 min. from our home. We choose this trail -- 2nd Battle of Bull Run -- it was a few miles long.

We saw the unfinished railroad, Groveton - historical home, a gorgeous strait trail with a long line of removable fence, Confederate cemetery, streams, bridge, monument, cannons -- so much in a short time.  Horses trotted along the trail with friendly riders waving and chatting.  I recommend this trail, which is a small portion of the Battlefield. Enjoy my highlight photos posted on my wellness blog:  http://wellzone.wordpress.com/

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, January 15, 2012
We hiked Manassas National Battlefield Bull Run and Manassas National Battlefield Groveton on the same day and a long day it was!  We just so happened to have done this hike on a Sunday that followed MLK Birthday weekend so we got into the park for free. We added a lot of other little trails so we could make this a 15 mile hike. We started at the Visitor Center, in which tours can be taken and other information is available about the battlefields, not to mention the restrooms also available.  We followed the first Manassas trail with no issues at all. We started the trail at 10:00 AM finishing at 12:41 running into a lot of runners and people walking dogs. After we made it back to the car we then took a lunch in the car. We started 2nd hike at 1:10 and finished at 5:00. If you wanted to you could turn right at the top of Mathews Hill and cut out maybe 2 miles of the trip instead of going back to the car for a lunch. We did not just because we wanted the miles. So starting the second trip we headed back past all the stuff we just saw just for a mile. The second hike was very muddy so I would suggest a change of clothes for the car ride back home. Also on this hike we crossed the paths of fewer people although we did run into a couple riding horses that was pretty cool to see. We saw a deer that ran away after seeing us. We did go to the Groveton Confederate Cemetery and to me that was one of the highlights of the entire day. We also looked on the topo map at the driving tour stops if the trail was close to that we would walk to that parking area just for some more mileage. Also on Chinn ridge we passed the Webster Memorial and followed the trail to the end then walked back up to Webster. I think we both really enjoyed this trail because of doing both in one day and some really cool history. I missed the mountains and the quietness normal hikes have but it was really nice to have a nice change of pace day to get some history in.

By: Rachel H Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, December 03, 2011
Not my favorite trail ever. As mentioned, it's poorly marked (maybe it's better hiked counterclockwise?), so I ended up at a dead end overlooking a highway overpass and had to turn around. It's nice that there are decent trails of this length in the metro area, but I much preferred the Bull Run hike on the other side of the park.

By: E. Gibbons Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, November 25, 2011
I, too, am surprised at how poorly this wonderful trail is marked. Particularly difficult in the autumn with leaves all over the sections of the trail in the woods.  Made me wonder if the US Park Service has a trail specialist on staff. Be sure to take the downloadable map or pick one up in the visitor's center. Even with the map expect a little confusion and back-tracking. That being said, this trail is a real winner in many ways.  Great for the history buff and nature buff alike.  This is sacred ground.  Take time to read the monuments and memorials.  Don't do some dopey thing like run it.  Quick side trail to Confederate cemetery very moving and worthwhile. Also takes you though several different micro-ecosystems (second-growth woods, meadows, wetlands) so lots of different wildlife and botanical opportunities for those so inclined.  You do share much of the trail with the horsey people so good trail manners and cleanable shoes or boots are useful.  I did this trail in May one year and agree with the other reviewers who mention the ticks. If you hike in the spring, wear the tick defense that you prefer and be sure to do a tick check when you get back to the car.  I do this trail alone and enjoy enough solitude for reflection and never have felt the need to be wary other than the usual prudence -- just the right balance.

By: avidhiker Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, May 29, 2011
Overall the hike itself is nice. I love the Civil War and getting to hike the Second Battle of Manassas is neat. However, when we went they had not mowed and the grass was extremely high everywhere. Needless to say every 5 minutes I was pulling ticks off myself. I must have pulled 10-20 ticks off my dog. It really took away from the hike because all I could think about was ticks.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, June 17, 2010
Had a lovely day for this hike, wonderful breeze.  Like the previous review, I missed the 2nd Manassas marker and wound up diverting on some other trails and there is little shade in the summer sun.  WATCH OUT FOR THE TICKS!  I battled with them all day, and make sure you check yourself all over for them once you return home.  Overall a fun hike, very easy trail but questionable markings in places, so pay attention!  I walked all of the extra loops on the map but one for the fun of it because I got diverted anyway and still had a good time, and made it back to the Visitor Center long before the park closed.  Even after 6 1/2 hours!

By: Jen Rating: Date of Hike: Wednesday, May 26, 2010
It's an easy hike since the trail is mostly flat and there aren't too many steep hills but it isn't great for a hot, sunny day since there is little shade. Watch out for ticks. Like the other reviewer said, the trail is poorly marked. Pay attention at at the Second Bull Run Monument not to take the wrong trail.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, May 01, 2010
I wouldn't exactly call this a hike.  It is more of a trail through the park.  Had we known this my boyfriend and I would have brought our running shoes instead of our hiking boots!  It was interesting to see the historical aspect of this trail, but next time we will go for a run.  There are some steep areas, but they don't last too long and there is a section where we had to cross a rather busy road.  So if you're looking for a walk in the park, this is your spot.

By: Tom Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, April 25, 2010
Overall it was a great hike, and I will return. However, there are spots where it is difficult to stay on the trail, since there are a number of other trails that branch off.  Otherwise, the trail can't be beat for covering some of the most historical ground in the Nation.  Take time to read the historical markers and think of the blood shed and sacifice. 

Records 1 to 14 of 14
about us | terms of use | © 2018