North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the Nicholson Hollow Hike - 1 to 14 of 14   
Review the Nicholson Hollow hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: Jamey Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, January 01, 2018
This is a very easy, pleasant hike. It's a great way to get miles without all the typical elevation changes. The river is very pretty, the Corbin and Nicholson cabins are interesting, and there are plenty of ruins in the woods off the trail. As for solitude, there was a couple staying at the cabin and one group of three on the trail.

By: Sean Rating: Date of Hike: Tuesday, September 06, 2016
A great hike for longer distance and smaller elevation gain. Along a stream much of the way. Corbin Cabin has a sign posted warning of copperhead snakes near one of the chimneys. I hung out on the porch for a while and didn't see any.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Wednesday, June 22, 2016
This is a beautiful hike with lots of small waterfalls and swimming holes. It is also full of ticks. I've done plenty of hikes and found a tick or two but since I've been home (for three days now) I've pulled 20 plus ticks off of my two dogs. Unfortunately one of my dogs became quite ill due to his bites. This really is a great hike and we did it specifically so the dogs would have water all the way. Even though my boys are on flea and tick meds the bites alone caused one of my dogs to experience mild and temporary paralysis. I'm not complaining but I don't know that i'd suggest this hike for pet owners with tick sensitive dogst, at least not in the middle of the summer...

By: Kris Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, August 07, 2015
This was a fabulous hike. Parked at Old Rag and hiked up to Corbin Cabin and back. Went with a friend and her eight year old daughter. Loved the solitude and water all the way up. Had fun playing in the water. Encountered a small yellow-ring snake at the cabin. If you are looking for a less traveled hike, look no further. This one's beautiful and I'm excited to return next month or sooner!

By: jen Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, June 06, 2014
This is a fantastic hike!  I added some side trails to it to get to about 12 miles total.  There are numerous swimming holes along the way.  About 1 mile before you get to Corbin Cabin there is a campsite on the right and a beautiful swimming hole that is fed by numerous little waterfalls.  I hiked on the way up and then ran back down -- trying to train my legs to run when tired.  The water levels were about medium depth and each of the crossings was doable without getting wet, if you so choose.  Will definitely do this again!

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, May 18, 2014
I chose to do this hike as a circuit. After walking the .5 miles from the Old Rag parking lot along Nethers Rd to the trail head, I followed Nicholson Hollow Trail for 3.4 miles to Corbin Cabin. Recent heavy rains made crossing the Hughes River difficult as the water was churning and moving swiftly. In spots, the water was above the knee - I believe there were four crossings on the way up to the cabin. Just past the cabin, I made a left onto Indian Run Trail - this is the most strenuous part of the hike as you will be hiking upward for most of the 1.6 miles before making a left onto Corbin Mountain Trail. Follow CMT for 3.8 miles to where it intersects with NHT again. Continue following NHT for another 1.3 miles to complete the circuit.

This is an outstanding hike if you enjoy the sound of rushing water, river/stream crossings and quite possibly, complete solitude, particularly on the IRT/CMT part of the circuit. I chose to jog CMT - it's not a difficult climb down - and surprised a black bear with two cubs.

As a circuit, this hike is moderately difficult, (2/3) mainly due to length of approx. 10.3 miles. While it will vary depending on the time of year, it rates a 4+ for streams, 5+ for solitude. I will definitely revisit Nicholson's Hollow in the fall.

By: Greg Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, February 08, 2014
The only parking is in the Old Rag lot (US Park fee of $15), walk farther up the road .5 mile to the well-marked trail head on the right.  Beautiful rivers/streams and a well-maintained trail (you get your $15 worth).  Unfortunately, the volume of water was a bit high and this (along with the light snow on the rocks) made the last crossing of Hughes River a bit dicey.  My group decided to not attempt it.  We ate lunch at the crossing and watched others try.  Some made it, some got wet to their knees--pretty unpleasant with temps in the low 30s.  That made it a very easy 6 miler for us.  Will likely come back to do the full hike, though, because it is a great hike.

By: Half Dome Hottie Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, April 07, 2013
Loved everything about this hike. Everything but the $15 parking fee. Anyway, great hike. Only saw 4 other people. A great hike to try if Old Rag is too crowded. The hills were easy and walking next to the creek the entire time was wonderful. Fun time exploring Corbins Cabin at the top of the hike.

By: Rich Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, September 16, 2012
We did this as a last leg of a Corbin Mountain Trail-Indian Run Trail-Nicholson Hollow Trail circuit hike. It's makes for a strenuous 10 mile hike, but there are numerous changes of scenery/fauna, both trails track streams with countless pools, and it is more intersting that going up and back the same trail. Even better, during the 7 hour hike we only saw 3 people. This was a marked contrast to the hoards that are climbing neighboring Old Rag (and starting from the same parking lot).

The trails are all well-blazed, and marked by NPS signage (concrete posts) and each trail intersection no worries about getting lost (especially if you bring along a map from the NPS booth at the parking lot). Another advantage is that the trails are all open to dogs -- unlike Old Rag. Besides the two main streams, there are several springs on the higher portions of the trails for dogs to drink from. Can't recommend this one highly enough.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, January 23, 2010
Absolutely loved this hike.  I hadn't hiked it in about 20 years and was looking for a fairly easy hike to do with a couple of co-workers in preparation for Spring backpacking.  The river was incredible.  There was quite a bit of run off from the recent snowfall creating a very large volume of water.  Neither myself, nor another member of the party that hikes the trail quite often could remember seeing such a large run off.  We have had another very deep snowfall in the area and I am anxious to get back up there again.  Hopefully this time with the camera.  I have also noted that the site rates camping as a 1, but we noted a number of very nice places to camp that would allow for great water access.  Although it should be noted that these spots probably would not be seen during times of full foliage, so as well as my camera, I also need to get back up there with my GPS and mark them.  If you can get a chance to get up there while there is stil quite a bit of run off, I would highly recommend it.

By: Anne Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, August 13, 2009
I never found the trail head! Google's directions were nebulous towards the end and took me to Skyline Drive.  After backtracking to Sperryville under the advice of a SNP ranger, I finally found route 600, except that it was the wrong route 600!  There are two, and the other takes you to the Berry Hollow Parking, which is probably about a good 6 miles away from the trail head.  Since I was tired of driving around and that it was already 10 AM I parked at the Berry Hollow Parking.  From there, I ended up doing a much longer and harduous hike than planned, going up the Fire Road (a steep, boring gravel road), over Robertson Trail (no view to speak of) and back trough Weakley Hollow.  I should have done Old Rag instead, but my pack was large and heavy (I was training for a backpacking trip to Yellowstone, and thinking I was going to do the easy Nicholson Hike I purposely made it extra heavy!) and I was worried about some of the more difficult climbing areas in Old Rag.  Lesson learned: Never completely rely on Google's direction, get a good road map of the whole area, as well as a topographic map to know how high you are going to climb.  In the end, I climbed as high as Old Rag!

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Wednesday, April 01, 2009
Loved this adventure . would do it over and over if health would permit me to. beautiful scenery and  never know whats around the bend. saw animals and greenery neverr seen before by me. did this as group with the Nicholsons . went to corbin cabin and crossed streams by rocks and I fell in , boy was it cold thanks for the greatest time for me that day

By: RouX Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, August 25, 2008
I took this hike and a quick overnighter to the Corbin Cabin area.  The cabin appears to be in great shape and the area seems quite popular with deer.  The hike is not too demanding and follows the creek for the entire time for the most part.  Beautiful river settings and I also saw what looked like trout is some of the deeper pools.  Overall a nice little hike.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, March 24, 2007
We used this trail as the first leg of a backpacking trip we did over a weekend.  Two of us and a dog took the Nicholson Hollow Trail to Indian Run Trail to Corbin Mountain Trail which was a little over 11 miles.  We parked in the Old Rag Parking Lot Saturday after lunch and hiked up Nicholson Hollow for about 4 miles then set up camp right below Corbin Cabin.  This is a very relaxing trail that follows the Hughes River, but I would recommend taking an extra pair of shoes with you for river crossings, as I got my hiking shoes soaked and they did not end up drying out over night.  I had an extra pair of sandals with me and should have put them on before crossing=lesson learned!!  Indian Hollow Trail is a mildly strenuous trek going up about 500 feet gradually over about 2 miles.  Indian Run connects to Corbin Mountain Trail to the left and the Old Rag Fire Road to the Right.  Corbin Mountain Trail was a nice hike downhill for the most part that offers views of Old Rag and you also pass the ruins of an old homesite on the way down.  This was my first hike of the season and a good one to start out with.  I was super tired by the end but it was worth it!

Records 1 to 14 of 14
about us | terms of use | © 2018