North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the Ragged Mountain Hike - 1 to 9 of 9   
Review the Ragged Mountain hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: NK Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, January 5, 2019
We hadn't hiked this since the reservoir was raised a few years ago.  We hiked it counterclockwise, but signage is better if one goes clockwise.   Parts were a bit muddy, but we have had record rainfall for the last eight months.  All in all very pleasant, and the bigger lake is prettier than I remember it before.

By: J Alex Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, March 10, 2012
This was a very pleasant hike. It was a little more difficult than we expected. A good bit of up and down on the hills. The map and directions of this site were spot on. We did not see but one other hiker. This is good hike for a morning or afternoon with a good mild workout.

By: LarryP Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, December 30, 2011
If you're near Charlottesville, go do this hike before it's too late. According to the news, contracts have been let for construction on raising the dam to begin in March. This is a beautiful hike, and I will be very sad to see it destroyed.

By: bennington200 Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, December 9, 2011
I have led Cub Scout hikes here but I am surprised this hike is listed on the HikingUpward site, as it is little more than a woods walk. There are better hikes within a short drive of Charlottesville - Fortune's Cove in Nelson County, and Mint Springs, Preddy Creek and the new Patricia Byrom Park in Albemarle County come to mind. UVA's Observatory Hill offers a better workout and is closer to town. As a recent reviewer noted, there is a new dam scheduled to put some of these acres under water. The land is owned by the local water authority, and in the meantime we are all hiking on these paths due to their kindness. They bought the land for future expansion, and most everybody who lived through the 2003 Charlottesville drought where car washes were closed and restaurants saved water by serving food on paper plates agrees that additional capacity is needed. If you do go, be sure to note the many restrictions that the Ivy Creek Foundation put on the land when they took over responsibility for the land a few years back. No longer are dogs or bikes welcome on the paths. No running. No way geocaching is permitted. An Albemarle County official told me that a landowner wanted to donate adjacent land for park use but was afraid that the Foundation would control it. So that land stayed private. If you live in Charlottesville and have young hikers, check this place out. Otherwise, there are a multitude of finer spots close by.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, October 23, 2011
I led a hike here on Sunday with a group of 20 from the Central Virginia Trailblazers group.  We hiked the entire 7-mile loop, with a stop for lunch near the Gate House on top of the earthen dam.  My only criticism:  The Upper Lake Trail is not as well worn as the Main Trail, and with leaves on the ground, it's very difficult to follow despite the blue blazes.  We met another couple near the concrete dam close to the end of the trail, and they told us they had trouble as well.  Otherwise the weather was perfect, and the fall foliage was beautiful.  Definitely worth the one-hour drive from Richmond.
http://www.meetup.com/cvatrailblazers

By: Hokie Hiker Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, October 20, 2011
I rated this a 5 because- though its a different "hike" (it's really more of a walk in the woods)- it's awesome. Especially now with the colors. It took 3 hrs today (PERFECT weather- mid/upper 50s, blue skies, early morning sun) just to do half the walk because I was stopping to take pictures- really just awesome. Worth an afternoon if you're nearby!

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, July 17, 2011
Really great casual hike. Took about 2 hours to do the 4.4mile main loop. Was pretty easy with a handful of short, manageable climbs. Beautiful glimpses of the reservoir beyond the trees throughout much of the trail. Most of the trail is covered by trees offering a very comfortable, cool, breezy hike even on a warm summer day. Highly recommended for anyone that just wants to head outdoors for a quick few hours.

By: Carolyn Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, March 12, 2011
Hiked everything but the upper lake loop with our 5 year old daughter.  Beautiful hike.  Loved the grassy dam.  We will definitely go back again.  There were a number of dogs on the trail, despite the very clear "no dogs" sign at the trail head. 

By: Ghostrider Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, March 4, 2011
Wow, who knew? Conveniently located right off I-64, foot-friendly trails, lots of hardwoods, and water views to boot. I hiked it counterclockwise. It's not physically challenging but there are a couple of short, steep ascents/descents. This is a very nice hike for novices or those who want to spend some time in the woods but don't want to sweat too much. I'll definitely go back when I'm looking for a casual hike. Only negative is the interstate traffic noise on the back section of the upper trail.

Records 1 to 9 of 9
about us | terms of use | © 2019