North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the Terrapin Mountain Hike - 1 to 8 of 8   
Review the Terrapin Mountain hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, May 20, 2018
Very poorly marked, and after 3 days of rain, Reed Creek was fast moving and dangerous. I didn't account for this and ended up lost as the trail had washed out. The option to hike back the way I came (about 7 miles around the loop) in the dark seemed dangerous. Ended up dialing 911, and getting help navigating down the mountain through some private property before getting picked up by Bedford County Fire Dept. Highly recommend not hiking this trail until it is remarked.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, February 25, 2018
We hiked this loop from the top lot and hiked counterclockwise thus reaching the summit within 1.5 miles of starting our trek. after the summit we continued down the mountain which was EXTREMELY slippery and rocky. At 8 miles were began crossing the creek (total of 6 crossings). The creek was VERY fast moving and high our day of hiking, and this made crossing nearly impossible on 3 of the 6 crossings. The final crossing I just gave up and walked half calf up to water through it for 20 yards. The mile marker stating 2.5 miles to the upper lot was a joke, as I've found are most trails as they evolve and signs aren't updated. In all, the loop was 13 miles. Would I hike this trail again? Absolutely. Do I wish the trail was adequately marked and millage accurate? For sure. Most hikers depend on markings to keep them on trail and depend on accurate milage to plan for water, food and daylight.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, October 07, 2017
I enjoyed this hike, but it was definitely a tough one! We did the loop and the first couple of miles are the most intense. Starts off remarkably steep, but then it suddenly gets even steeper and stays that way for a good portion of the way up. Great view, though not as scenic as other nearby hikes. I recommend doing this hike in the winter since the leaves block out much of the view while hiking along the ridge during the summer and early fall. The trail is not well marked in some areas and there are a number of forks along the way. We didn't have any trouble finding our way, but make sure to have a topo map or GPS on hand with directions handy just in case.

By: Bethany Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, December 29, 2016
Fantastic hike. I thought the directions provided were very helpful and pretty accurate although the mileage on my GPS watch was slightly different. I brought my dog along and we both really enjoyed the varied terrain. Great views throughout with no leaves on the trees and Reed Creek was beautiful!

By: The dirctions are sketchy Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, October 01, 2016
I frequently came to splits and tried to figure out where to go because the yellow blazes were non existent. I got to the road and turned right as the directions stated to do even though looking at the map that didn't seem right. Needless to say I ended up on the AT and then the parkway 13 miles away from my car. Also do NOT take the summit first. That is up....up....up some more.....oh thank god its flattening out.....oh crap now its up again at an 80 degree incline. I will say though that the view at what is labled as mile 1.5 is phenomenal. My pictures can't even possibly capture how magnificent it is. But having to hitchhike 13 miles back to my car was not fun. Before people assume its because I'm new I've been hiking for 20+ years. I have never been on a trail as poorly marked as this one and I've been on some trails I thought couldn't be beat in that category.

By: Glenn Rubel Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, September 24, 2016
I agree with Sara that this hike is very challenging and in my opinion could be rated a 5 difficulty. I hiked the trail to Terrapin Mountain peak and back and found the yellow blazing poor and in need of refreshing. The views from Terrapin peak are so-so but the view from the false summit at 1.5 miles is rewarding. I wanted to see the view at 3.1 miles but didn't have the heart to downslope from Terrapin peak and to have to upslope on the return trip. I recommend to all hikers to read the above directions as I took the wrong turn at the start of the hike and followed a fire road for a good distance before realizing the mistake.

By: LynchburgExplorer Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, March 19, 2016
This is such a great hike.
Be sure to look for the rock formation that looks like a turtle at the summit. When you get to the overlook near the summit look at the ridge to the left, you'll see a big jumble of boulders along the ridge. With some imagination you'll see a turtle. Hence the name of the mountain, 'Terrapin'.

Also there is another rock formation beside the know as 'Fat Man Misery' It's a great talus cave that requires one to 'squeeze' through. The Terrapin mountain 50k and half marathon actually run through the rocks, so for more information look up those races.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, March 10, 2016
First off, don't underestimate this hike! It is a tough one with it's continuously steep climbs. Trail is rugged and there are many loose rocks on the way up if you choose to take the summit way first like in the directions above. Keep your eyes on the blazes because we found it easy to take an accidental wrong turn on unmarked trails on some of the switchbacks and in the areas that were so rocky that the trail was very faint. Bring trekking poles if you have them! They kept us from tumbling down the loose rocks on multiple occasions. We did find the directions a little confusing when we got to all the Y junctions because of how many unmarked trails we encountered. We ended up opting out of doing the loop to the creek like we originally planned and just headed back the way we came after seeing the summit. If you do this, be even more careful on the way down because of how steep the trek is. The rocks and leaves were very slippery.

Another thing, when you are driving down Terrapin Mountain Lane it is a residential area. The trailhead is at the end of this road with a small parking area.

Records 1 to 8 of 8
about us | terms of use | © 2018