North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the Three Top Mountain Hike - 1 to 11 of 11   
Review the Three Top Mountain hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: Sean Rating: Date of Hike: Wednesday, April 12, 2017
I'd been on the Little Passage Creek hike (also nice) which shares the same parking area and fire road segment as this hike. As the description says, this feels like a less-traveled hike, especially the ridge-line segment. It is an interesting hike and I liked it overall. The first mile had me quite winded but then it levels out on the ridge. I had good views from the ridge on both sides but as foliage fills in the views won't be so good. I lost my footing on the ridge more than on any other hike I can recall, I think because it is less traveled leaves cover many holes on the trial and between rocks. I recommend a hiking pole for the ridge -- and be careful. The ridge is quite rocky in parts, especially as you near its end. After 3.5 miles of the ridge, I was glad to hike down to the smooth Forest Service road. The road has many puddles on it -- only one challenging stream crossing near the reservoir. The description gives you the option of the fire road or trail for getting around the reservoir -- if you take the trail you will avoid that stream crossing. I noticed a lizard but no other wildlife. A morel mushroom in the middle of the ridge trail, which seemed an odd place for one. Spots on the ridge have an abundance of mint plants -- I have never seen so many on any other trail. Calling about the gate at the intersection of Boyer Road and Forest Service road 66 is good advice but if you go in or near summer when weather has been fair it should be open. I went once in March and the gate was locked. I called this time and got voice mail, and just went and lucked out. You might have an alternate hike in mind in case the gate is locked.

By: Dan Ratcliffe Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, November 19, 2016
This was a good hike for solitude. I only saw a couple of horseback riders on the fire road, otherwise complete solitude. The 3-4 miles along the spine of the mountain was fun, but can be tough on the feet at times.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, April 17, 2016
It was a good hike but it took use a lot longer than 4 hrs. Our small group hikes 200-250 miles a year with hike speed of 1.0-2.1 mph. On this trail we, our speed was only 1.3  The views were ok. The trail was in good condition, apparently the result of volunteers who went to a lot of trouble to clean it up and apply fresh blaze along the trail. Thanks to those who did the work!  No snakes, though I expected we would see some with the temperatures in the low 80s. On a return visit I would definitely hike the trail in a counter-clockwise direction to get the road hike out of the way first. Road and pasture hiking is not on my list of great hikes. Saw one other hiker on the mountain part of the hike. On the road, we saw 12.

By: aldikuma Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, January 21, 2016
Second time on this hike and I liked it much better in the winter. Even though the leaves are all down, the views are not spectacular, so don't expect more than one or two decent vistas. The best part of this hike is the solitude. The FS road part is actually really nice, too, as it follows a stream and it's a peaceful walk. When you reach the reservoir, take the orange trail for a bit, then turn left going downhill to walk over the short connector trail by the reservoir back to the FS road (then go right). One easy stream crossing with rocks placed to assist you across. Nice hike, with many campsites around the reservoir and along the road out.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, August 30, 2014
Hiked this one on a warm muggy day, so that took a little away from it. That being said, the 3.5 mile stretch along the ridge line, with rock outcroppings and a few scenic views made this hike fun. We hiked it counter-clockwise as we wanted to put all the 'road walking' at the front rather than at the end. The ridge part of the trail is well marked, but, as is typical with the Tuscarora Trail, not real well maintained. Expect high grass, stickers, and occasional trail blocking large trees to climb over. That being said, the trail along the ridge whimsically meanders across, over, and between the rock outcroppings typical of mountain ridges in this area. A good doable hike for an afternoon of fun. While we saw the occasional bear scat on the trail, no bears were in evidence at the time we hiked this. In fact, while the rocky terrain made us constantly on the alert for snakes, we did not encounter any.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, May 18, 2014
A nice, very easy hike… but it would amazing in the late fall to early spring as I couldn't see much from the ridge. I found many, many ticks on me and my dog (small and large), as the trail is not used often so it's overgrown in places. I only saw two people the whole hike and they were fishing the creek off the FS road at the end of the hike - and it was a PERFECT day to hike! So if you like solitude, this is ideal. A few notes: 1) As you drive down to the parking area on the orange blazed FS road, there's a also parking area up a small hill off to the left and it's very close to the trail head. It's a little longer than the 1.8 miles to get to the parking area described. It's up to you! 2) Be careful as you climb the first part - the blue trail you need to take will be a sharp right turn right (at a tree with three blue blazes) as you see the orange/blue blazed trees. If you come to a fork (orange to the left and blue to the right) with a sign for the Tuscarora trail, you've gone too far. I made this mistake and started descending on the other side of the mountain. 3) The last couple miles are along the FS road, but it's a nice walk that follows the creek and has one crossing. I would like to return on a sunny winter day - the views would be beautiful.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, September 05, 2011
Hiked this one clockwise. Enjoyed the steep hike up to the ridge which was strenuous but still fun. The hike along the ridge was awesome, there were some tricky spots but all in all it was very nice and not very slick despite all the rain. I am certain there are views here but the clouds concealed them. Hiking off the ridge down to Strasburg Reservoir was pretty tame and the views along the dam (side trip) was worth the trip. The final stretch along the road to parking was the only drawback for me as I am never a fan of road walking. All in all it was really nice and shocked it was rarely used but seemed to show signs of recent maintenance and if you ask me, it was a nice hike I would be happy to do again.

I am surprised the trail does not stay along the ridge up to Signal Knob.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Tuesday, July 07, 2009
summer 09 crystal me and colby 8 years old parked close to powells old cabins took trail up to top took right or north went around lake and back it was maby 6 miles and further than i had thought,so worried about that boy getting hurt.i saw a hundred piles of bear poop pretty lame hike.

By: Benna Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, December 27, 2007

Hiked this right after Christmas 07 with three teens and a labrador. We had a nice time and only encountered one person the whole day - a mountain biker on the Forest Service road.

Directions were good although there is a parking area closer to the trail intersection with the Forest Service road that you drive in on.

The initial climb from the roadway to the ridge is a bit steep but fortunately pretty short. We missed the turn  off from orange blazes to blue and had to back track a bit after we started to  decend on the other side.  Be careful as soon as you see that both blue and orange marks on the same tree. It's a sharp right.   The ridge line is still deep in leaves which makes footing slippery and slows travel speed a bit.

I enjoyed this walk - especially the views of the winding Shenandoah River. Don't recommend it for anytime the leaves are on the trees though as there are really no decent clearing/ view points and a summer hike is going to be behind a solid wall leaves.

A good walk for a winter day. A good dog trip too.


By: tawlk Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, June 23, 2007
Nice hike, nothing spectacular, it was just nice to be outside today.  After the first ascent it is clear sailing.  Perfect hike for a hot day, half the day you are along a ridge so you can take advantage of a breeze from almost any direction.  All the ratings are right on, except for the camping.  I might rate that one higher based on other hikes posted on this site.  There are a half dozen around the lake area.  Also if you are interested in car camping, there are quite a few sites on the drive in.

By: Kris Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, March 25, 2007
Enjoyed a beautiful day by getting out on a trail. First elevation test on my right knee which I had surgery on 11 days ago. It seemed to handle the 770 foot elevation gain without too much difficulty, though my cardio stamina was lacking after  no hiking or other exercise  since mid February.   The hike is fine and, indeed, I did not see anyone until the return leg along the fire road. One hiker and a couple of mountain bikers. Views are limited but present now due to lack of leaf cover. Better just before descending off the ridge line. I awarded myself the "dumbass" award for the day, though, after parking at the wrong gate and hiking out a mile before finally turning around and realizing it was the next gate that I had to park at. So I ended up hiking 9.6 miles instead.  Even with my knee in a recovery stage, I think the hike should rate a 3 difficulty. The trail along the ridge line is very rocky and brutal on the ankles at times. My knee did fine, but I rolled an ankle more than a couple of times. Streams are swollen and Little Passge Creek made for a timely resupply on water with my new Varios filter. Way cool! Filled both my nalgenes in under two minutes! Over all a nice hike and great for a nice day outing...just start where the description tells ya. :)

Records 1 to 11 of 11
about us | terms of use | © 2018