North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the Trumbo Hollow Hike - 1 to 15 of 15   
Review the Trumbo Hollow hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: Hobo Hiker Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, July 28, 2018
I backpacked this section to fine tune a new backpack. The first hill is rather brutal with a 30lbs backpack on. The climb is switchbacks but the elevation was more than I expected at about 1000 feet. Once you are over the first mountain it's pretty easy to the Denton shelter. The trail is relatively smooth for most of the way. There is one creek crossing so wear shoes you can get wet.

I camped overnight at the Jim and Molly Denton Shelter and had the shelter to myself. Plenty of flat tent sites. I also stayed at the shelter on 7/8 and shared the shelter with the tail end of 2018 thru-hikers. The thru-hikers were very friendly and lots of laughs. The shelter is nicknamed the "Hiker Hilton" because it is always kept so clean and has a spring fed cold shower, horseshoe pits, picnic pavilion and cleanest privy on the AT. It also has a nice lounge bench and was recently freshly painted. This is a 5 star shelter if there is such a thing. Seriously... who ever maintains this shelter needs an award.

The return trip to my car was easy. There's a bench in the hollow field and somebody planted three apple trees. I tried one of the apples but they were rather sour.

Parking Note: I read in one of the blogs that the parking area had some break in's so don't leave anything in plain site. I talked with a local who said it was a safe parking area however.

Forgot to mention that I took some quick video of the hike and trail conditions. Here's the link - https://youtu.be/U4YybDXedtE The video starts at the Tucker Lane parking area.

By: Ash Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, May 27, 2018
While I enjoyed this hike I was a bit let down from the buildup in the description. If you’ve hiked a lot in Virginia then I think you will think this is an average hike. My GPS said 1,400 feet of climb. I consider this an easy hike as the mileage and rate of climb is low. Of course everyone is different so your mileage may vary. It’s a nice little hike but I probably wouldn’t do it again.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, May 26, 2018
Overall: A decent hike, pretty rigorous (I think it should be rated at least a 4), that is a short distance from DC (45 minutes). We parked at 8:45 on a Saturday (Memorial Day Weekend) and there were still a few spots available. There were a few hikers, but not terribly crowded. OK views, but not as good as other Appalachian Trail Hikes in Virginia.

Advantages: -Rigorous: I walked it with a few mid 30 types and we all thought it was pretty rigorous. Definitely a good workout, particularly if the temperature is over 80 degrees.

-Meadows: The hike has two large meadows that offer decent views as well as a nice change of pace.

-Turnaround Point: There is a shelter at the turnaround point (mile 3) that provides some shelter from the heat as well as a water station. This was crucial for us, given that the temperature topped 90 degrees.

Disadvantages: -Rigor: This is not for everyone. The first 1 miles is a rocky, sharp uphill that takes a lot out of you. Hikers must be in a decent shape and I would only encourage kids in a backpack if you are in VERY good shape. I would also add the terrain is extremely rocky, so the descent is just as difficult (hiking boots are a must). If you are inexperienced, you can park at the midpoint of the trail and move in either direction, avoiding the rocky and steep first mile.

-Parking: Parking was definitely full by 1200--I suspect, the lot filled up much earlier. On a weekend, I would recommend getting on the trail no later than 0900.

-Poison Ivy: We hiked in late May, and there is LOTs of poison ivy visible, particularly in the meadows. Make sure you have decent boots with socks that can come up to your knees (or wear pants).

By: Lyn H. Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, May 12, 2018
Did this hike on a very warm spring day. Overall, it's really nice and pleasant. For folks that have done a lot of the mountain/forrest hikes in the Shenandoah area, this is a nice change of pace. It's definitely not too tough, but the fact that you go up and down twice gives you a workout. The first part is definitely the steepest. I can imagine areas that are rocky (there are a few) being a little thorny in the fall if they are covered with leaves. But generally the trail is extremely well maintained. The meadows are beautiful and doing the hike in May allowed for nice wildflowers also. Would recommend this hike!

By: Nice local hike Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, April 14, 2018
Wanted to do this last year but it rained. Did this as a quick overnight backpack. Underestimated the steepness of the climb to the meadow. That will get your heart going! Too early for leaves on the trees so it was quite toasty and there was no shade in the unexpected 80 degree April heat that came through. We camped at the shelter and were joined by five through hikers. Enjoyed hearing their stores. We slept in our hammocks and gave them the shelter. Nicest privy we've ever used, and also really cool figuring out how it works (mouldering privy). Will definitely return when leaves are on the trees as the shelter area is really nice and the meadow will be appreciated even more. Closed out the weekend with brunch at Apple House. Yum!

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Early fog cleared making it a perfect day for a walk in the woods.

The railroad crossing shortly after the hike begins has a special meaning for me. It was on these tracks that the funeral train of Dwight David Eisenhower passed on April 1, 1969, on its way to Abilene, Kansas, his final resting place. I was aboard this train as a young Secret Service Agent and throughout the darkest hours of the night I witnessed thousands and thousands of people standing beside the tracks paying their respects. Working the midnight shifts, I sat outside the door of Mrs. Eisenhower's room in the last car of the train, which was beautiful and sumptuous with wood paneling. As I sat there throughout the night I had a view of the rear of the train as it passed through the dark countryside. The lights of the train illuminated those many faces as the train passed and, almost as if choreographed, the faces turned and faded into the darkness. It was one of the most moving experiences of my now long life and one of only a few times that I could really appreciate working a midnight shift.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, October 21, 2017
I chose this hike because I am conditioning for thru hiking/section hiking. Overall this hike was very nice. We stayed at the Jim & Molly Denton shelter. This is one of the nicer shelters I have stayed at. The shelter itself was over run with stink bugs. We ended up pitching a tent up on the hill by another fire ring. The trail seems pretty popular, we passed probably 6-10 groups of people going to the shelter and then again coming back. There were 3 groups staying at the shelter including mine. Parking was packed. We ended up parking across the street by a mail box. The car was fine when we returned to it. After the hike we went 4 miles down the road to the "Apple House" and got Apple Cider Donuts! They were amazing, especially after hiking.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, August 13, 2017
I enjoyed this hike! Fairly good workout yet just takes a few hours to complete. Some good hills, and a stretch of rocks.  Views probably would be better in Spring and Fall, but the meadows were really striking. Saw just a handful of other hikers today. The Molly and Jim Denton shelter is amazing. I would love to camp there sometime.

By: Dan Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, November 28, 2016
What a lovely hike! While there are no real overlooks, the views of the high meadows are really a sight to see. Because the leaves were off the trees, you could catch glimpses of some mountain peaks in the distance, and the woods portions of the hike made you feel like you were on the Great East Road near where Frodo and his companions first encountered the Black Rider! The trail through the meadows presents no difficulties, but it's a good idea to wear hiking boots on the main ascent/descent as several segments are rocky and encrusted with scree. My Fitbit measured the elevation gain at just over 1500 feet for this out and back, which is more than advertised by Hiking Upward. I will definitely do this one again in the spring when the mountain laurel is in bloom.

By: Steve from Winchester Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, November 27, 2016
This was a very nice hike. The first part has a nice series of switchbacks up a ridge to a beautiful meadow with great views. There were a lot of both day and overnight hikers enjoying a beautiful day. The shelter at the end of the hike was very nice except for the group of 10 to 12 people making a lot of noise. Overall, I recommend this hike as a great way to spend 3 to 4 hours.

By: Medic G Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, November 25, 2016
Ok, overall maybe a 2.5. I think it was a decent hike. I would say the difficulty rating of 3 is correct. The views are rated at a 4. I would maybe go a 3 on views. With the exception of the meadow, there isn't much in the way of views. I will say the view from the meadow was great. On solitude, I would give it maybe a 2. Definitely NOT a trail for solitude. My wife and I saw 2 groups of 3 hikers each prior to arriving at the shelter. At the shelter there were about 8 people there with 3 dogs running loose. My wife and I had our dog however, she was on a leash. Since the other dogs were running loose, it made us not stay at the shelter long at all. It would have been nice to check out the shelter more but, maybe another day. Also, this is the only hike I've done where I had to cross train tracks. Like I said, a decent hike and the meadow is nice. Just don't expect to be alone.

By: Stephanie Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, September 17, 2016
This is a nice hike! I organized a work group to go on a day hike and I'm glad I chose this one (I had never done it, so was a bit nervous). It had a steady incline at the beginning, a couple quick meadow walks and down back into forest walks. We reached the PATC shelter, which was off trail just a bit (thanks to my husband who spotted the roof through the trees), rested for about 20 minutes and headed back. Time and difficulty are true to the ratings. The uphills on the way back were nice quad burners but we're over pretty quickly. Overall a great hike, I'll definitely return in the fall - I think this one will be great when the leaves change. Oh and a trip up to Fox Meadow Winery (off Freezeland Road) is a great way to toast to a great day. Enjoy!

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, August 27, 2016
Great hike, it's got it all. Starts off with a little walk across across a wooden bridge and then on some boards on the ground. Cross over the railroad tracks and it hits a great upward hike into the woods and up the mountain. Lots rocks and switchbacks. It starts off tough and then opens up into some great meadows with a nice view. The last part before getting to the shelter is a nice easy stroll through the woods. Got to the parking lot around 9 and only 2 other cars were there. It's small so get there early. I went on a 90+ degree day so it was pretty empty on the trail. Will definitely do this again, hopefully it won't be too crowded in the fall.

By: robert f Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, June 04, 2016
Please note. The Denton shelter is owned and operated by the PATC for the use of AT long distance hikers. It is not a picnic area for large groups of day hikers. Recently the shelter had been overwhelmed with large day use groups. Please limit group size to six or fewer.

thank you. the caretaker.

By: aldikuma Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, May 13, 2016
Great, short, easy hike with a bit of everything: stream crossings, bridges, meadows, bogs, hills, views, etc. I really, really enjoyed the open meadows - so beautiful this time of year and lucky we caught a beautiful SUNNY day amongst all the rain and grey we've had lately. We didn't make it all the way to shelter as we stopped to chat with the several AT backpackers along the way so were behind in our schedule, but not sure we missed much there anyways. The solitude is more of a 2. Saw a few backpackers coming in for the weekend when we got back to the parking area by 5pm. My knee is still healing from a meniscus tear, but I didn't have difficulty on this hike. Watch for poison ivy in the meadows and stay on the trail.

Records 1 to 15 of 15
about us | terms of use | © 2018