North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the Trumbo Hollow Hike - 1 to 9 of 9   
Review the Trumbo Hollow hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, October 21, 2017
I chose this hike because I am conditioning for thru hiking/section hiking. Overall this hike was very nice. We stayed at the Jim & Molly Denton shelter. This is one of the nicer shelters I have stayed at. The shelter itself was over run with stink bugs. We ended up pitching a tent up on the hill by another fire ring. The trail seems pretty popular, we passed probably 6-10 groups of people going to the shelter and then again coming back. There were 3 groups staying at the shelter including mine. Parking was packed. We ended up parking across the street by a mail box. The car was fine when we returned to it. After the hike we went 4 miles down the road to the "Apple House" and got Apple Cider Donuts! They were amazing, especially after hiking.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, August 13, 2017
I enjoyed this hike! Fairly good workout yet just takes a few hours to complete. Some good hills, and a stretch of rocks.  Views probably would be better in Spring and Fall, but the meadows were really striking. Saw just a handful of other hikers today. The Molly and Jim Denton shelter is amazing. I would love to camp there sometime.

By: Dan Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, November 28, 2016
What a lovely hike! While there are no real overlooks, the views of the high meadows are really a sight to see. Because the leaves were off the trees, you could catch glimpses of some mountain peaks in the distance, and the woods portions of the hike made you feel like you were on the Great East Road near where Frodo and his companions first encountered the Black Rider! The trail through the meadows presents no difficulties, but it's a good idea to wear hiking boots on the main ascent/descent as several segments are rocky and encrusted with scree. My Fitbit measured the elevation gain at just over 1500 feet for this out and back, which is more than advertised by Hiking Upward. I will definitely do this one again in the spring when the mountain laurel is in bloom.

By: Steve from Winchester Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, November 27, 2016
This was a very nice hike. The first part has a nice series of switchbacks up a ridge to a beautiful meadow with great views. There were a lot of both day and overnight hikers enjoying a beautiful day. The shelter at the end of the hike was very nice except for the group of 10 to 12 people making a lot of noise. Overall, I recommend this hike as a great way to spend 3 to 4 hours.

By: Medic G Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, November 25, 2016
Ok, overall maybe a 2.5. I think it was a decent hike. I would say the difficulty rating of 3 is correct. The views are rated at a 4. I would maybe go a 3 on views. With the exception of the meadow, there isn't much in the way of views. I will say the view from the meadow was great. On solitude, I would give it maybe a 2. Definitely NOT a trail for solitude. My wife and I saw 2 groups of 3 hikers each prior to arriving at the shelter. At the shelter there were about 8 people there with 3 dogs running loose. My wife and I had our dog however, she was on a leash. Since the other dogs were running loose, it made us not stay at the shelter long at all. It would have been nice to check out the shelter more but, maybe another day. Also, this is the only hike I've done where I had to cross train tracks. Like I said, a decent hike and the meadow is nice. Just don't expect to be alone.

By: Stephanie Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, September 17, 2016
This is a nice hike! I organized a work group to go on a day hike and I'm glad I chose this one (I had never done it, so was a bit nervous). It had a steady incline at the beginning, a couple quick meadow walks and down back into forest walks. We reached the PATC shelter, which was off trail just a bit (thanks to my husband who spotted the roof through the trees), rested for about 20 minutes and headed back. Time and difficulty are true to the ratings. The uphills on the way back were nice quad burners but we're over pretty quickly. Overall a great hike, I'll definitely return in the fall - I think this one will be great when the leaves change. Oh and a trip up to Fox Meadow Winery (off Freezeland Road) is a great way to toast to a great day. Enjoy!

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, August 27, 2016
Great hike, it's got it all. Starts off with a little walk across across a wooden bridge and then on some boards on the ground. Cross over the railroad tracks and it hits a great upward hike into the woods and up the mountain. Lots rocks and switchbacks. It starts off tough and then opens up into some great meadows with a nice view. The last part before getting to the shelter is a nice easy stroll through the woods. Got to the parking lot around 9 and only 2 other cars were there. It's small so get there early. I went on a 90+ degree day so it was pretty empty on the trail. Will definitely do this again, hopefully it won't be too crowded in the fall.

By: robert f Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, June 04, 2016
Please note. The Denton shelter is owned and operated by the PATC for the use of AT long distance hikers. It is not a picnic area for large groups of day hikers. Recently the shelter had been overwhelmed with large day use groups. Please limit group size to six or fewer.

thank you. the caretaker.

By: aldikuma Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, May 13, 2016
Great, short, easy hike with a bit of everything: stream crossings, bridges, meadows, bogs, hills, views, etc. I really, really enjoyed the open meadows - so beautiful this time of year and lucky we caught a beautiful SUNNY day amongst all the rain and grey we've had lately. We didn't make it all the way to shelter as we stopped to chat with the several AT backpackers along the way so were behind in our schedule, but not sure we missed much there anyways. The solitude is more of a 2. Saw a few backpackers coming in for the weekend when we got back to the parking area by 5pm. My knee is still healing from a meniscus tear, but I didn't have difficulty on this hike. Watch for poison ivy in the meadows and stay on the trail.

Records 1 to 9 of 9
about us | terms of use | © 2018