North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the Wahrani Nature Trail Hike - 1 to 11 of 11   
Review the Wahrani Nature Trail hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: Barb S Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, February 11, 2018
Enjoyed the green loop hike which is about 1 1/2 miles. Happy to see plenty of maps in the kisok and new trail marker stakes waiting for spring for installation. I have seen continuing improvements over the years.

By: Emily Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, September 10, 2017
Thought this trail system could use a current review. Stopped in today after passing many times and had a great long walk with my dog. Walked all of the trail loops, which were easy to follow. Several trailside information kiosks were nestled way back into the woods, each stocked with maps. Pay attention to tree blazes and markers. At some points it can be a smidge confusing, but the combo of consistant signage and blazes makes this very easy. Also, snag a map haha. Stopped by the creek and made coffee, can't wait to come back to ride my mountain bike. Great hike, welll mapped, beautiful pine fells and Creek.

By: Discouraging day hike Rating: Date of Hike: Tuesday, November 4, 2014
I took my two kids. We found many problems with this trail from the very beginning. My major complaint is two different types of signing. The parking signage was helpful but dropped off. If looking for a kid friendly trail I would not visit this location.

By: Julia Tye Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, June 30, 2014
Ticks, ticks and more ticks. Found at least 15 on me, and quite a few on the dog. Maybe June isn't the best time for this hike. Also, very poorly marked, and what's there is confusing.

By: Charlie Meade Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, September 15, 2013

First time on the trail and assumed that the trails would be well and clearly marked.  That was not the case.  I made the mistake of starting in the afternoon and thought I might end up spending the night before I found my way back.  As in the above article I followed the sounds of traffic so I was never seriously worried, but if it's your first time, do it in the morning!


By: John Anderson Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, June 12, 2011
My 3 kids and I really enjoyed this trail! It's family friendly and the geo cache's are lot's of fun.

By: Bent Pole Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, March 20, 2011
Very confusing blazes.  We even had the maps with us and got confused.  We did not have the HU instructions, which might have helped.  We followed an unmarked trail just for fun and ended up at the jail.  Whoops.  Ran across a sign later warning that the nature trail is next to a hunting preserve.  So in retrospect, walking on an unmarked trail was a bad idea.  We ran out of time and didn't get to go to the blue blaze trail with the cemetery.

All that aside, this was a delightful little hike close to home for us.  It was my 19-month-old's first woods hike and it was absolutely perfect for him.  Lots of streams and some varied but easy terrain, short and sweet.  There is a nice little playground, too.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, March 7, 2011
I decided on the spur of the moment to hike this trail.  While I did have a good time, I found myself confused by the blazes and a dead end trail.  Some nice bottoms and creeks to view along the way but nothing spectacular. Take some time and study the map, and better yet take one with you.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Wednesday, January 19, 2011
I have gone by this trail ever since it was there.  I was on my way home from Richmond and desided to stop and check it out.  Hiked in and out for only about 1 hour.  Found this web site the next day.  Was a little muddy in some places but not bad.  I will go back soon since now I have a map and some directions.  Also nice tables and childrens playground at trail head.  Wish I had come here back in 05 when I was training for AT thur hike.   

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, January 9, 2011
Hiked this nice wooded loop today and picked up 10 easy geocaches along the way. We even took the time to cook some Ramen and tea for a hot lunch near the upper power line support. Trail network could be confusing I'm glad I loaded the GPX route into my GPS before we went so I didn't have to think about it much. Exactly 4 hours including our many stops and detours.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, March 1, 2010
Nice short hike with minimal scenery.  There are some small creeks that wind through the hills.  There are a few steep spots that would be interesting if it was muddy.  Mostly single-track mountain bike trails with plenty of roots and uneven terrain.  I didn't see anyone in the 2 hours it took me to hike the main trail along with the loops. 
The guide is right about the trail blazes, they are confusing to say the least.  There are 2 trail maps posted along the main trail that are good references.  My suggestion would be to follow the yellow blazes until you get to the blue blazed loop.

Records 1 to 11 of 11
about us | terms of use | © 2018