North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the Eagle Rock Hike - 1 to 11 of 11   
Review the Eagle Rock hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, April 28, 2018
Nice day, although cloudy, and finished just before cold front rolled in. A lot more rocks on the trail than I expected. Dogs apparently are permitted, but had to continually watch our step because owners did not pick up after their pets. Horses also use the trail.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, November 04, 2017
I did the 7.2 mile version of this hike. I started early so there were no cars parked when I started but when I got back to the highway it was pretty full. It was a pretty easy hike overall and had some nice views even though you can't leave the trail.

By: Kim Q. Rating: Date of Hike: Tuesday, October 24, 2017
We parked in the lot closer to Eagle Rock and hiked the last 2.1 out and back since we had our 2 year old with us. What a fantastic hike! It's a steady uphill during this last bit of the hike, but nothing strenuous, and the views are definitely worth it! The primary outlook has by far the best, unobstructed views but the other overlooks around it have great views as well! The views from the primary overlook are greater than 180 degrees. We saw one other car in the small parking area but saw no one else on the hike. As other reviewers have mentioned there are stay on the trail signs, but I'm assuming it's because the land around it is owned by the nearby resort in Capon Springs (we drove by on our way to get here - looks like a really cool place to go). We live on Back Mountain Road so this hike is only a 30 minute drive for us, and would probably be about 45 minutes from the city of Winchester. We'll definitely go back!

By: Hobo Hiker Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, August 20, 2017
NO PARKING? At Rt48 and the trail head there is now a big NO PARKING sign. There is a parking lot farther down the road about 300 yards that doesn't have a no parking sign. I decided instead to go up Rt609 and park at Dry Gap. It appears somebody doesn't want hikers in that area either. At that trail head parking were 6 big signs "Capron Spring Hunting Club Members Only- $500 Reward for Arrest of Trespassers"(Also some old signs that appeared to have been ripped down) I'm am going to check with some contacts at the PATC and trail clubs to see if this is legal. I parked anyway at Dry Gap parking saying to myself, "These $500 trespassing signs are BS!" Once on the trail their were signs that said please stay on the Great Eastern Trail -respect private property- Now that I'm fine with and thank the private owner for respecting the hiking path. That said, the 2.1 shorter hike was easy and there is a great view. Their is a nice cement bench at Eagles Rock to sit on. Unfortunately the parking fiasco spoiled the hike. Also for some reason I didn't hear or see ANY wild life? Not even a bird chirping? Very strange. Worried about the $500 trespassing sign I quickly took some pics returned to my car to leave. I gave it 3 stars because of no parking. (FYI- I did see some trash in the parking so I cleaned it up like a good hiker, no trace left behind :)

By: aldikuma Rating: Date of Hike: Monday, June 26, 2017
Couldn't have picked a better day to hike: mid 70s and sunny with almost no clouds in the sky! This hike makes me want to continue on the Tuscarora for miles! Still healing from leg injury, I needed a gentler hike and this turned out to be perfect. The beginning is an interval hike, but nothing strenuous. At this time of year you'll have some views through the trees, but when the leaves are down I bet this is even prettier. Some of the trail is covered in tall grass, so expect ticks - I only found a few on me and my dog. I did see some poison ivy so watch for that as well. The last part up to the main vista is not intense but it's continuous uphill. The views at Eagle Rock are exceptional. I could've stayed there for hours. We encountered several other hikers, which was surprising for a Monday. Despite being only seven miles I felt like I got a nice workout. It was great to get back out on the trails. Do be careful when crossing 48/55. The parking along the road can only hold 3-4 cars so if you go on a weekend, start early.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, June 17, 2017
We chose this hike as a micro adventure with Brotherhood Adventures. Actually started on Friday evening and setup camp at the campsite. Was a good hike, the last mile was tough for me but the view was amazing. We got there and the valley was foggy. As far as of trail, it was fairly easy and not real technical. About 30 minutes later the valley opened up.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, June 17, 2017
Took a micro-adventure with Brotherhood Adventures (http://brotherhoodadventures.com/) for a one night camp out and hike. Really enjoyed our time. We hiked our stuff in late on Friday, camped, and then were able to take heavier stuff to the car on Saturday morning before doing the whole 7 mile trek. Found the campsite to be a great feature and easily supported our 6 tents. The terrain was a nice challenge for some of our novice hikers and a nice experience for some of our more experienced members. Eagle rock was beautiful and the fog lifted just in time for us to catch the panoramic view before heading back.

Found directions on here to be well detailed and most reviews accurate. Was very glad to have pictures and a map to help orient us especially in finding the campsite Friday night. Only issue was some of our novice's were taken by the altitude changes but, again, was a nice challenge I think we all enjoyed.

By: Daniel F Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, May 20, 2017
All in all a pretty good hike. The trail is very well-marked and relatively easy for the first 2.5 miles. The steady uphill getting to the outlook in the middle of this hike is a bit more challenging, but still not very difficult. And the overlook in the middle is fantastic. Some of the best views of any hike in the area. Even though the majority of the hike isn't terribly interesting, the overlook makes it worth the trip.

However, a small word of warning - watch out for ticks. I've rarely had so much trouble with ticks as my wife and I had on this hike. Must have pulled nearly 15 off of me. Might be that this is just a bad season, but regardless, I'd advise being cautious with how you dress for this hike.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, May 07, 2017
Hiked with my nephew starting from highway 48/55. The trail got quite rocky in places, but also was earthen for long stretches. The forest opened up in places, providing some nice views to the south of the Great North Mountain range. There were clusters of spring wildflowers, along with several species of fern. In places these ferns blanketed the ground.

Eagle Rock was worth the effort, and not just for its sweeping views of the Shenandoah Valley and surrounding mountain ranges. The forest was dominated by Mountain Laurel, Pine, and low growing Blueberry. Where these plants stood along the cliffs, they had clearly been sculpted by the wind and elements. Looked more like a botanical garden than a patch of raw nature.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, April 16, 2017
Always enjoy this hike, secluded, yet easily accessible, found some trash at parking area, we cleaned it up, was clear and warm, great hike for dogs as well, didn't see a soul

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, March 19, 2017
I've been sick for the last two weeks, so we needed to keep it short and keep it close to home in Winchester. We decided to explore the VA-WV border of our own county of Frederick (and Hampshire County WV). We have hiked a lot of the Great North Mountain complex, all of it south of route 55/US48 (Shenandoah County VA and Hardy County WV). This was our first foray on the Tuscarora north of 55. I was quite happy with this largely unknown trail with its views of Great North Mountain and Little North Mountain. Because it was snowing and there were low ceilings, we could not see over to the Massanuttens and the Blue Ridge, but I am sure that they are spectacular on a sunny day.

There were a lot of snow drifts, some up to two feet deep, but fortunately, someone had already postholed them and we didn't have to. Wading through snow is a lot like walking in the soft sand at the beach: it takes some effort. Still that effort was handsomely rewarded in the views at the top.

Kudos to PATC for their work on this trail. It could not be any better marked. Each tiny little turn is marked with double Carolina-blue blazes it is not possible to miss the trail, even though there are all kinds of trails crisscrossing in this area as a result of the trail relocation.

I would say that looking at the elevation map here gives a false impression of the climb from VA690 to Eagle Rock. It's a steady climb but it's not nearly as steep as it looks on the map. An easy climb in fact.

The views at Eagle Rock are spectacular and may be second to none in this area. And the bang for the buck is pretty awesome: it's an easy 3.2 miles to the top where the payoff views are incredible. Bottom line: easy walk, quick walk (90 minutes each way), not super popular, spectacular views. I feel like this will become a go-to hike for us when we are short on time and need to stay close to home.

trip report/photos: https://mangiabeve.blogspot.com/2017/03/keeping-it-local.html

Records 1 to 11 of 11
about us | terms of use | © 2018