North Carolina  Virginia
Maryland  West Virginia
All States Hike Map

Hiker Reviews for the Allegheny/Seneca Creek Hike - 1 to 16 of 16   
Review the Allegheny/Seneca Creek hike here!   Average Review Rating:

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Wednesday, November 02, 2016
Went to Spruce Lake Campground to camp the day before. It was gated so ended up staying at Gatgewood Campground. This was a nice place to camp on top on the mountain. It was close to the trailhead. After taking the first trail off Seneca Creek the trail constantly proceeds uphill. Same with the Allegheny trail. It however will climb and somewhat level off at times. this will take you to the top of a ridge where there are some good views of an adjacent mountain. The trail had some boggy spots that were manageable. The recent weather was fairly dry but could have had some past rain to contribute. The Allegheny trail starts to descend and intersect with other trails. After taking the Horton trail, we began a technical decent. down to Seneca Creek. This trail is on the side of the ridge and tends to fall of at times. It is humbling to look to the left. Use caution here. Once we arrived at Sceneca Creek the Scenery was spectacular! Soon we had to begin crossing at points. We brought crocks but I only used them twice when crossing. Was able to rock hop the other 2 or 3. Could have gotten away with using them once but I had them on when leaving camp so kept them on. There is a big water fall 15 ft+ early on. It is a great spot! I think the crossing above this required crocks. we continued on and passed several campsites. Ended up camping a bit before Judy Springs. Noted that firewood looked scarce at most sites. Camping along the creek was enjoyable. A mouse crawled across my back when I was sitting on the stone seats by the fire. It continued to bother me. Thinking it had been feed by prior campers. I tied our food up in the Y of a big tree. When I checked it the next day I found that a couple items were eaten completely. I think it was the mouse. Maybe a tree with a limb would have been better but didn't see any good options. The hike out was really nice! We side hiked the Judy Springs trail. The trail seemed to disappear. I kept following it as best I could to a nearby trail. Turned around and hung out on an outcropping above Judy Springs for a while. It was enjoyable. Continued out on a slight ascent along the creek trail that offered fairly easy terrain. The views were spectacular consisting of the creek, open areas with various vegetation and spruce thickets over the trail. Not much wildlife was seen other than a few birds, hawks? the trail is marked well with signs and the maps available will help. Thank You for the info here.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, March 11, 2016
This is my favorite area to hike in West Virginia, and one of my favorites in the world. It has everything and is great if you want to get a first-time backpacker hooked on hiking.

I've gone in June, July, and March. I would say July is the best time to go since the huckleberries are in full bloom and you can take advantage of the beautiful swimming holes that are abound. Also, the vegetation is unbelievably lush during the wet summers.

One tip to people who are interested - There is an even bigger waterfall a mile or two down from the falls just below the Horton/Seneca Creek trail junction. I believe it is beyond the boundaries of the official trail but there is a trail that will take you all the way...just be careful crossing the very very old bridge about a half mile from the main waterfall.

I love this place. To me, it is the closest one can get to heaven on earth.

By: nate phillips Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, July 16, 2015
my dad and I hiked this trail as a backpacking trip. It was very nice we loved it except for a couple of things LOTS OF MUD!!!!!!, and horse poop as well. Beautiful rivers/river crossing they where crystal clear. We camped at the best campsite in the forest BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!! there where some downed trees in the path. Bring a saw it helped us a lot with firewood its hard to find DRY wood. Overall one of the best. We have already planned a trip back.

By: Steve Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, August 11, 2012
First day on the Allegheny Mountain trail was nothing special. There were periodic bogs due to several rainstorms earlier in the week. The last mile on Horton Trail drops 1,000 feet and was brutal on my knees. For that reason I would not take this loop again. Once we reached the falls it was great. It's a very pretty area with lots of good campsites. Love those stone chairs! Hiking out the second day on the Seneca Creek trail was very nice. Water was low so we were able to do all crossing by stepping on rocks. If the water level is high I think you would need wading shoes for the two crossings nearest the waterfall. The falls/camping area and the Seneca Creek trail are why I give this hike four stars. We spoke with a couple who took the High Meadows/Seneca Creek loop and they said the Lumberjack Trail was a boggy disaster. I prefer loops for overnight trips but next time I come here I'm just going to hike in and out on the Seneca Creek Trail maybe with some side trips to the Judy Springs and High Meadows trails.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Thursday, June 14, 2012
Great hike in a new area for me. Had the whole place to ourselves until friday afternoon. Water is some of the coldest I have ever been in at the falls... Breath taking cold!

By: Mat Smith Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, October 15, 2011
Ill keep this one simple
My wife and I went here for our anniversary, (!st time to Seneca Creek) It had been raining for a few days so the creek crossings were pretty deep, one was over 12" deep and 30 feet wide, with no rocks to skip over the top, but most were below the cuff of our boots, with partially exposed rocks to hop across. Again this was obviously at high water levels. Alas we pressed on.
We decided against the loop and just went down the valley and back the way we came. This was a very pleasant hike, with full backpacks for our 2 nite stay. We came in close to dusk (bad idea) and about 2mi in it got to dark to cross a large crossing, so decided to set up camp at the 1st "campsite" we say about 100yrds from the crossing.
The next morning, we broke camp headed to Seneca Falls. The best camps, with rock seats and all, are about halfway to the falls, from the route we took, at the only real clearing in the valley. We plan to get one of those next time.
The volume of water was nearly 3 times of the pics of the falls show. This tells me that if you do this hike after a rain storm, as we did, it will be pretty boggy.
Good Boots were an ankle saver, as fallen leaves on the trail hides rocks that can roll ankles easily. Along with keeping our feet dry.. until the water went over the cuffs.
Also the road leading up to the trail head, is narrow, and others on the road were traveling too fast in my opinion to avoid a collision. BE CAREFUL here, and make sure You have enough gas to get you back to the nearest station 2 hrs away on our route from I-64 in VA.

I WILL definitely be heading back in a few years with the kids, but only after checking the weather report of the week leading up to the trip

Loved all the Waterfalls, Totaling 7 of substantial size.

By: Brandon Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, March 18, 2011
This is an amazing hike in the spring when the water is high and tree are still yet to bloom(VIEWS). We stayed overnight in Elkins, WV the night before the hike. We took off from Elkins around 8am on Friday, and didnt have any trouble with the directions until we hit the stop sign about one or two miles before the trail head. This stop sign was the stop at which you can either go straight or turn right up the hill( basically a u-turn). We went straight first then eventually realize we weren't in the right area. Arrived at the trail head about 10am, and still only about maybe 45 degrees. Not knowing how high the water is going to be we hike for about 8/10th of a mile when we hit our first flooded creek. We eventually found a sort of dry way around the creek, turned up the trail to head up the mountain. BEWARE the water in march is only about 32 degrees. Heading up the mountain there was still quite a bit of snow but by one or so it was close to 60 degrees and beautiful. The allegheny mountain trail was really nice eventually after 5 or 6 miles we started down the mountain to Seneca Creek. BEWARE when on top of the mountain the signs are kinda tore up and the blue markers are not right at one point on the trail. Thinking about how we couldnt see the creek the first half of the hike we knew we might be in for a treat in the spring. Heading down the mountain you can here the RAPIDs of the first creek crossing. Before hit the creek you most likely will have to cross a waterfall first. Once you get to the creek you will know it. When we approached the creek we got kinda freaked out. The water was about thigh high , moving like crazy, and about 30 degrees. BEWARE this was dangerous and lucky to not lose your pack, while the water was this high. After the fist crossing we came up to Seneca Falls( absolutely amazing) in which we had to cross a second time right above the falls. For some reason all of us thought that we were done with the creek crossings on this trail, FALSE. We hike another mile or so before camping for the night, right next to the creek, that had an awesome fire place with rock chairs. Over night due to the water being so cold running under ground under the tents and the air not much warmer it got done to 25 degrees. The next morning we got the fire started again, warmed up and got all our dry gear on. We went about 300 yards before ANoThEr creek crossing with about 10-15 more after that. Awesome trip but make sure you are prepared to get wet at some point.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, November 20, 2010
We did this hike as an overnight backpack. FR112 is now paved all the way to the intersection with FR104. At that point it becomes gravel but is very well-maintained and was no trouble at all, even in my little Honda Civic! Day one we hiked from the trail head, up the Tom Lick trail, up the Allegheny Mountain trail, down the Horton trail, and then along the Seneca Creek trail to our campsite. Notice I mentioned "up" several times. Despite the small elevation gain, these trails just seemed to keep going up! Switchbacks were practically non-existent. Note that along the Allegheny Mountain trail, the sign for the Bear Hunter trail is practically destroyed and is marked as trail 529 instead of 531. It's correct at the intersection with the Seneca Creek trail, though. Once reaching the Creek we crossed probably 5 times on our way to camp. Water shoes are a great idea and the water is freezing! It was worth it though to camp at the site with the waterfall, "den" of tables, love seat, and fire pit, and "kitchen table" made of an old grist stone. The second day was an easy hike along and through Seneca Creek back to the car. I'm sure these trails are packed during the warm months but this weekend it seemed like we had all of Spruce Mountain to ourselves! We saw only one other person on day one and two others heading to Judy Springs while we were hiking back to the car.

By: Rene Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, May 01, 2009
I would agree with other reviewers that this is one of the most beautiful hikes I have seen. We had some difficulty finding the trailhead from google maps. We arrived too late to do the loop as described, so we proceeded from the parking lot down the east side of the trail toward the campsites and did an out-and-back route. It was rainy and wet. We were glad to have crocs along for the water crossings although the second day, we just went straight through the water with our hiking shoes. We were lucky to get the "prettiest campsite" with the grist mill and next to the waterfall. It was gorgeous! Two other groups were camped in the clearing. We saw a few mice in the evening around stones by the stone chairs. (loved the stone chairs) We had a little difficulty finding privacy for bathroom needs as the trees were small and we were next to a hillside. On the second day, we left our packs at the campsite and proceeded to the beginning of the steep hill where we turned around. We really enjoyed the many waterfalls. The walk back to the campsite was even prettier as we walked upstream. Our route covered about 10 miles. Not too strenuous.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, November 16, 2008
One caveat about this trail, if you're hiking in winter or inclement weather. The 11-mile road to the trailhead, FR112, is not plowed when it snows, and conditions where it crosses over the pass near Spruce Knob can be markedly worse than the surrounding area. We had to cut short a trip when the weather changed unexpectedly, from a predicted high in the 30s with mild snow flurries into highs in the low 20s and up to 9 inches of snow. This is a beautiful area and we'll be back soon!

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, September 22, 2007
My friends and i hiked this trail and camped out next to the falls for our last camping trip of the season. the views were great and the trail and camping spots were well maintained. ive never seen a state park service take as much pride in the park as in west virginia. at the time we went the water level was low but this spring we are hoping it will be higher when we go back. my friends and i are former US Marines and we love the trails on the site and we have used this site for all of our weekend trips but by far this one is the best weve done. if you get the chance to go on this trail do so and maybe ill see you there. hope this review helped.

By: tawlk Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, April 28, 2007


I have written a few reviews on here, and have never thanked you for such a wonderful website. This is by far one of the most comprehensive sites for this region.

This was our first hike in the Monongahela NF, but it won’t be the last. This hike had a little bit of everything. We went before the leaves were on the trees, so there were still some views from the ridge. The down hill portion of the trail was challenging, very steep and narrow, but still only moderately strenuous. I would love to do this hike when the roses were in bloom; the whole hillside was covered with wild bushes. 

The water was very cold this time, rightfully so since there was still snow on some areas of the trail. We counted about 6 substantial crossings: 4 the first day and 2 the second. If you are doing the full circuit on the weekend, I wouldn’t set your hopes on getting the “prettiest campsite in the forest” as noted in the directions. It looks like there is a lot of completion for this site and people hike along the river early in the morning to set up camp. We ended up staying just a little upstream of this site and really couldn’t ask for a better place. We were still next to a waterfall and we had a lot more privacy in comparison to many of the campsites in this area.

If you haven’t done this hike yet, I would defiantly put it on your list. 

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Friday, April 27, 2007

The day stared off misty and a little rain, cold and cloudy. By the time we hit the Tom Lick trail it was on and off sunny. We hiked the ridge until we go to the downhill section to Seneca Falls. All I can say is that it was a great sight to see, the water was clear, the falls were really flowing and the water was cold.

The camp sites are immaculate and very close to the river, and after a nice nights rest, we began our trek out. Make sure you bring water shoues or Tevas, there are 4 creek crossings without a bridge.

The 5 miles out from Seneca Falls is a gradual uphill and not to bad on the legs. The last 1/4 mile make your heart pump.

Overall, this is a great trail, I moved here from Colorado and miss the streams, rivers and creeks there, but this is second to non for the east cost!


By: Chris & Megan Rating: Date of Hike: Sunday, October 08, 2006
This hike absolutely lived up to all the hype - one of the most beautiful overnight trips we've been on, with some of the best campsites by far.  In fact, I would rate this one even higher for the 'Views' and 'Solitude' categories.  This weekend, most of the leaves had changed color but were still hanging on to the trees, which made for some incredible views.  A few things to note for those who may be considering doing this one: 1) Approx. the first 5 miles of FR 112 after you turn off of Briery Gap Rd. has been paved, and the dirt portion beyond that is in pretty decent shape - passable by car even in the wet weather we had. 2) To avoid any confusion, the Allegheny Mtn. Trail is actually numbered TR532, not 552 as the directions say. 3) Waterproof shoes/boots are a must-have on this hike, especially on a wet weekend like this one.  There are numerous creek crossings along the Seneca Creek trail, and not all of them can be rock-hopped.  The water was never more than calf-high, but a pair of sandals or flip-flops to put on for the creek could be the most valuable item you pack. - The the trail number for the Allegheny Mtn. Trail was corrected to TR532. Thanks.

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, October 07, 2006
It was a little rainy when we started out, but I have to say the additional water really paid off when we reached Seneca Falls. This was by far one of the nicest hikes I've been on. Between all the fantastic waterfalls, the excellect campsites and the leaves changing, it was well worth hiking in the rain. While I'm at it, excellent website!! I find the trail descriptions to be the best I've used with information that hikers really need. 

By: Rating: Date of Hike: Saturday, September 24, 2005
It's been a couple of years since I've hiked this exact loop but this past weekend we did a shuttle starting at Spruce Knob and visiting High Meadows before descending to Seneca Creek. It is truly an amazing place. Even when it is crowded there are plenty of wonderful creek-side campsites to acomodate everyone. The hike out of the valley can be the focal point for several different outings. Although the crowds lessen some in the fall, the creek is at its best in spring and early summer. This may require optional footwear for the first couple of crossings. There are too many falls, chutes and slides to count.

Records 1 to 16 of 16
about us | terms of use | © 2018